HD problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hotrod351, Feb 12, 2015.

  1. hotrod351 macrumors 6502

    hotrod351

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Location:
    Mohave Valley Arizona
    #1
    i have a 2007 MacPro with two seagate 750Gb internal HD's. i run off one and keep the other as a clone of the first. the other day after installing logmein/rescue problems started with it. first of all the person at my internet provider didnt ever even start communicating with me using the logmein window, but it did open. she finally found the problem and fixed my internet speed problem. problem started right after that. id quit the logmein window and when restarting my computer the logmein window would open and within 30 seconds my 2nd internal HD icon would disappear form my desktop. i actually had to force quit it a couple times to get it to close. finally it was gone, but no more 2nd HD icon on desktop. i go to disk utility and see the HD listed but when i try to erase it all i get is its to busy. i even tried plugging it into a external HD enclosure, again it would show up but cant get it to eject, mount or erase. now this is a HD that i dont use but maybe once a month to make sure its still working. im not all that computer knowledgeable, as im sure you can tell, but seems some how something has gotten installed onto it with the logmein app and wont quit running. any help or suggestions of what to do or look for.
     
  2. WorkerBee2015 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    #2
    I got Scannerz to test my hard drives. If interested, you could check out their link at:

    http://scsc-online.com/Scannerz.html

    However, I kind of doubt your hard drive is the problem. It might be, but for the problems to start the moment you finished adding a product sounds just a little too coincidental.

    You might want to boot into safe mode and see if the problems continue. Here's a link for that too:

    http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201262

    Most of the time safe mode will stop stuff from starting up in the background, and if the problem is being caused by Logmein then it should stop too. The problem you might run into with that is because it might be used for error checking, it might be designed to be used in safe mode, so it might start doing whatever it's doing anyway. If the problems stop in safe mode, at least you'll know it's not a disk or hardware problem.

    Another option is to fully uninstall Logmein from the system. If they don't have an uninstall program you may need to contact them to make sure they didn't install hidden files somewhere. You would need to check with the Logmein people about that.

    The only time I've run into a problem where I'm not allowed to eject a disk was if something else was using it.
     
  3. hotrod351 thread starter macrumors 6502

    hotrod351

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Location:
    Mohave Valley Arizona
    #3
    thats exactly what im thinking. it all started with lomein. now it finally stopped showing up on startup after about 45 minutes. i called them and they said it would just unload after time. but seeing as it started with it it seems to point to it.
     
  4. hotrod351 thread starter macrumors 6502

    hotrod351

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Location:
    Mohave Valley Arizona
  5. hotrod351 thread starter macrumors 6502

    hotrod351

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Location:
    Mohave Valley Arizona
    #5
    that did it. first it said a disk was installed and needed to be initialized, then disk utility opened and i was able to format it. its up and running again. i knew it was going to take someone that knew how to solve this puzzle. now ill not forget this option. thanks
     
  6. hotrod351 thread starter macrumors 6502

    hotrod351

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Location:
    Mohave Valley Arizona
    #6
    Now is it better to eject the internal HD,s that I'm not using
     
  7. WorkerBee2015 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    #7
    You shouldn't have to, but of whatever application put stuff on it to cause this problem, you might want to move it to your active disk.

    Ejecting a drive that's not in use does, however, have the benefit of not having the OS or any applications from attempting to make use of it.
     
  8. hotrod351 thread starter macrumors 6502

    hotrod351

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Location:
    Mohave Valley Arizona
    #8
    id like to understand how Logmein was able to get onto it. like i said its fixed now but still how does a application, or anything else, get onto a HD not in use.
     

Share This Page