hd resolutions. advice needed

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by entwife, May 28, 2009.

  1. entwife macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #1
    hello, sorry if this has been asked a million times but i need some advice after finding out hd isnt as simple as i thought.

    right...

    i have just bought a 32inch lg hdtv, it is 720p, native resolution is 1366/768.

    im using a xbox 360 with hd vga cable and wasn't sure if 1280/720 or 1280/1024 was the better resolution.

    and yes i know i should be able to tell from looking at it, im just being anal about it, hahah.

    im thinking 1280/720?

    sorry again for silly question but google did offer me clear answers
     
  2. nobunaga209 macrumors 6502a

    nobunaga209

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #2
    I'd have to defer to the experts on technical specs, but your scenario brings up a question. Why are you using VGA cables? Component or better yet HDMI will make a world of difference! ;)
     
  3. entwife thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #3
    its a launch xbox so no hdmi port, but from what ive read the vga is still good
     
  4. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #4
    I would say that 1280/720p would give your best picture.

    If you go above 720, then somewhere along the line, the system must compensate for the extra 304 pixels.

    If you use 1280/720, then you would have a black bar around the whole picture. On the bottom and top there would be 152 unused pixels. On the left and right there would be 43 unused pixels.
     
  5. entwife thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #5
    Cheers, ive been such a noob when it came to this and i must admit it went over my head when i started reading in to it.

    there is no black bar, the tv screen is full (widescreen 16:9), is that the tv filling it out?

    there is also a 1280/768 setting? the same apply (if its over 720 the system is compensating)?

    Thanks for you advice on this (silly) question.
     
  6. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    With VGA you should be able to select your native resolution (1366x768). I run my 360 at 1680x1050 through a VGA cable. I get black bars but if I select 720p it stretches it out.
     
  7. entwife thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #7
    rightyo!

    thanks very much

    halo wars looks so so much better
     
  8. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #8
    Can't VGA only support up to a certain amount of resolution.

    Component would be better than VGA right?
    (I have a Launch Xbox 360, and a Launch Elite- Both came with Component/RCA cables, the Elite with a HDMI cable)
     
  9. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #9
    That depends. Component is locked to the standard HD resolutions, VGA supports (from memory) around 12 or so different resolutions, or at least with my monitor it did.
     
  10. entwife thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #10
    that is what I've found, the VGA has unlocked pretty much every resolution on the 360 Inc the 1080 ones, 1920/1080? Either way from what little infomation I did get from googling this question it seems the VGA adapters offer a excellent HD picture.

    It's just I've been after a HD tv for ages and I want to get the best out if it, and just wanted to make sure the 1280/720 or 1280/1024 resolution was the better one for my set being that it's a 720p set. And like I said before I know I should be able to tell by looking but I just wanted to ask.

    I'm starting to think 1280/720 should offer better picture as resolutions that are higher will be 'edited' by the tv to get them to display properly due to number of pixels?

    Tbh I just expected there to be 720 option in xbox settings rather than a list of resolutions. Haha.
     
  11. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #11
    Yup, it does support 1920x1080. A friend has a 1680x1050 monitor but can run it in 1080p, just with the corners cut off. And yes the picture quality is superb. But I don't notice a difference at all using HDMI, Component or VGA at 1080p. The colour reference menu is useful for VGA though as colours can seem a bit washed out. I've got mine set to the Advanced (I think) option.
     
  12. entwife thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #12
    thanks for help
     

Share This Page