HD tag

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Volante, Sep 30, 2008.

  1. Volante macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
  2. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #2
    Not that I know of, but I'm sure it will be added to MetaX as soon as it is figured out! :)
     
  3. fivepoint macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #3
  4. TheCheapGeek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #4
    Im interested in this too, i have several hd items and would love for them to be tagged properly.
     
  5. downinitjr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    I'm guessing that itunes/AppleTV is looking at the resolution of the tv shows only to determine if the HD logo shows up or not. I have a couple different series of tv shows that I have encoded myself at 1280 x 720, and they automatically show up with a HD logo on my apple tv. However it appears that they are not checking this for movies. Perhaps there is a string in itunes that would enable this possibly?
     
  6. fivepoint macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #6
    I have two that are 1290x720... and neither one of them were automatically updated to include the HD symbol. :confused:
     
  7. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #7
    That would actually make the most logical sense; if resolution > 480p flag as HD. Now if we could just get a utility to allow changes to the cnID so our own SD/HD encodes show up as one entry in the iTunes library... hopefully Rodney @ MetaX is working on a new version. :)
     
  8. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #8
    I have a TV show at 720x400 resolution, and the Apple TV labelled this as HD.

    Me thinks it is a good idea, but they'll need to define it a bit more.
     
  9. downinitjr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #9
    So it definitely appears that itunes is only looking at the resolution of the video, and only for tv shows. I tried opening a video with quicktime and changing the displayed resolution, then adding to itunes, and it had no effect. When I actually re-encoded the video to 1280 x 720, then itunes labeled it as hd. I wish this was enabled for movies as well.
     
  10. enigmatut macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    MA
    #10
    HE tag in AppleTV?

    Dumb question (maybe):
    Where do you see the HD tag in the ATV GUI?
    Either I'm blind or my HD shows (purchased from iTunes) aren't being marked as such....
     
  11. sonictonic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #11
    The last couple HD shows I have purchased and downloaded from iTunes, and sync'd, are not showing the HD tag even though they are HD shows. The latest Season 5 The Office episode 2, and episode 1 of the new Christian Slater Show My Own Worst Enemy.

    Anyone else? :confused:
     
  12. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #12
    Same here for the new episodes of The Office and Heroes.
     
  13. marklight macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #13
    I have HD TV shows that I didn't buy from iTunes, and they are flagged as HD. I'm hoping this makes its way into the Movies section as well.
     
  14. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #14
    Some people are coming to the conclusion that the AppleTV does not like the new filename '<show> (HD).m4v' making it not process the file properly, therefore not showing the HD logo in the ATV menu...

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1742330&tstart=0

    EDIT: I can confirm that if you remove the program that is not labeled correctly on the AppleTV menu from your iTunes Library (do not delete the file), rename the file '<title> (HD).m4v' to something like '<title> 1.m4v', and then reimport it into iTunes, it will show up correctly flagged as HD in the AppleTV menu.
     

Share This Page