HD Tapes or Normal Tapes

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by wbennett01, Apr 22, 2008.

1. wbennett01 macrumors newbie

I have a canon HD video camera that I use, and I have been buying the sony HD tapes from Best Buy but they are about 10 dollars each. I was wondering if it matters. Could I use the normal ones? Would I loose quality if I did. Thanks for your input.

2. Toddgabweg macrumors member

Toddgabweg

I am new to this HD video (I just bought a Canon HV20- clearance)- anyway, from what I have read there is no difference in picture quality using the reg. DV tapes- my source for this is www.HV20.com

3. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

normal tapes...
    makes hardly any difference (if any at all)..

save some money and don't fall for the marketing rubbish :D

4. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

The actual tape format for DV and HDV is absolutely IDENTICAL. Picture quality is also identical, the only difference is if 1 tape was more prone to failing than another.

I think it is just marketing designed to catch ignorant buyers. If they were touting higher reliability, then they should just say that, instead of giving people the impression that these were special 'HD' tapes.

I buy cheap $2.50 tapes for my HV20 and am perfectly satisfied.

5. huntercr macrumors 65816

There will not be any loss in quality. Digital is digital. There may be a loss in reliability, but this is of much debate.