HD upgrade help on MBP.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mattwolfmatt, Nov 16, 2008.

1. mattwolfmatt macrumors 65816

mattwolfmatt

Three questions involving a potential HD upgrade:

1. To select which HD is compatible, i need to know the "model" of my MBP. I bought it new in August 2008 and have attached the info (I've upgraded to 4GB RAM). Do I have the Penryn?

2. What is the maximum size available? The biggest I can find (I think) is 500GB (at OWC). Is this correct?

3. I am backed up with time machine and I have my leopard install disk that came with the MBP. Will my applications be backed up on time machine or will I need to reinstall those too? Because that could get messy (I've bought several programs downloaded from their corporate site).

I'm fairly new to the Mac and am overwhelmed with info out there. Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. daneoni macrumors G4

daneoni

An Aug 08 MBP is most likely a Penryn book considering you got it new as well. To fully confirm click on more info from that About This Mac page, if your model identifier is MacBook Pro4,1 then you have a penryn

Time machine backs up everything (that includes apps)

500GB is currently the biggest drive available for laptops if i remember correctly. All you need to know is that your drive is a 2.5" drive and 9mm. I think. Other correct me if i'm wrong

3. mattwolfmatt thread starter macrumors 65816

mattwolfmatt

Thanks danonei! I'm still debating between 320GB 7200rpm and 500gb 5400rpm. Hmm. Much speed difference?

4. bugout macrumors 6502a

All Macbook pro's, since they were released, use the same type of hard drive. The only thing you have to take into consideration is what size you want.

5. Sirus2400 macrumors regular

Yes, you have Penryn. Any 2.5" 9.5mm HD will fit your comp, and the current maximum size is 500GB 5400rpm, or 320GB 7200rpm. Although it looks like 500GB 7200rpm drives will be available in the next few months (speculation).