HD Video Webcam for mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Zen5656, Dec 29, 2010.

  1. Zen5656 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #1
    Hey!
    I am looking for a quality HD or even FULL HD webcam that captures smooth video on my MacBook pro. This cam is used to do some video recording of my dj sessions for friends and colleagues. Sound is taken from a high end sound interface.

    Looks like this:
    http://titanic.kolourrecordings.com/...09VideoMix.ram

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rQSp7XsYLfA

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1pjShLiHMWs

    I was told that Logitech webcams like the full HD C910 cannot work together with my Mac OS X (driver not exist). Is that right?

    What other choice do I have to record better quality HD movie via webcam?

    Thanks!

    bye
     
  2. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #2
    2 options ... if you want the best raw image and do not need any software support (to pan, zoom, color control, etc), go with the C910 ... if you do want to be able to "control" the cam via software, then you need the QuickCam Vision Pro (make sure it isn't the 9000, which is made for Windows, as that lacks Mac OS compatibility).
     
  3. Zen5656 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #3
    Thanks jenzjen. So the C910 is supported with a 720p resolution? I cannot figure it out. Logitech just says "we do not have any software to record on mac and photobooth does not record in hd (standardvalue vga)". Can I use imovie for example to do this?
     
  4. Zen5656 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
  5. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #5
    Hmm, good question, IIRC it does give you full 720p image quality on a Mac, you just lose the ability for any type of software control like you would normally have. Maybe Google for a review?
     
  6. slipper macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #6
    I'm pretty sure the C910 would work with iMovie to record in 1080p or 720p. I posted a thread recently but no one answered it. Logitech doesn't mention Mac support but that's probably only for their software. I could be wrong though.
     
  7. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #7
    I purchased a Logitech a few months ago; I thought it was the C910. And you are right, it works fine on the Mac but they don't give you any software to set it up, configure it, or operate it. If I'm not mistaken, I had to set it up on my windows box first, and then I could operate it with my Mac. But if memory serves me (and it often doesn't) the only reason I had to set it up on the PC was because I didn't know how to set it up, once I figured it out, I could do it all from the Mac.

    In long, I had to return it anyway, it just kept going to sleep and not waking up (maybe their software prevents this).
     
  8. Zen5656 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #8
    Still not sure if I can buy the C910. Why is this so difficult. Easy question

    1. Is the Logitech C910 working on a Mac with Apple software like imovie

    2. If yes what resolution and fps is possible.

    Thanks..
     
  9. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #9
    Did you even try to Google? I just did and found the answer in 2 clicks. Why is this so difficult? Easy solution.
     
  10. Zen5656 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #10
    No I googled it several times and no clear answer from the Mac community. Can you please send me the link? Thanks
     
  11. Zen5656 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #11
    http://www.logitech.com/en-us/435/6816?section=downloads&bit=&osid=9

     
  12. Zen5656 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #12

Share This Page