HD webcam not possible on Macs?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by piatti, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. piatti, Jan 15, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2012

    piatti macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #1
  2. davegoody macrumors 6502

    davegoody

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire, England
    #2
    Errrr..... Not true !

    All the current crop of Macs have a FaceTimeHD camera (excluding the MacMini and MacPro which have no cameras built-in) that does support HD resolutions. Any app that supports video should support this camera.
     
  3. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    what he said + i have the logitech camera c525 and take pictures in hd so either way macs support hd resolutions.
     
  4. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #4
    I use a Logitech C910 webcam with Skype under OSX and HD video calls work great
     
  5. piatti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    I bought an HD webcam but it's definitely not showing at 720 quality. what could be wrong?
     
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    List your model.
    Contact manufacturer.
     
  7. chaos86 macrumors 65816

    chaos86

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    The market term "HD" means it's ≥ 720p which is 1280px x 720px, which is actually quite a low resolution. Add to that the fact that a webcam is usually tiny, and cheap, and you've got some really bad looking video that is technically HD.
     
  8. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #8
    What are you using to compare? If you're using Skype or similar, do you have the internet bandwidth for it? Maybe the person at the other end doesn't have an HD camera?
     
  9. piatti, Jan 31, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012

    piatti thread starter macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    The person on the other end is using the HD camera. This one: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004ETQHDM/ref=oh_o03_s00_i02_details

    How do you figure out the Internet bandwidth for it? At any rate, we are using a standard cable internet. Should be fast.

    I noticed that this camera doesn't do HD chat:

     

Share This Page