HD3000 performance and RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Joel95, Jul 16, 2011.

  1. Joel95 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    #1
    Apple's website says it's shared with main memory, and that 348 MB is the minimum.
    Intel's website says the HD 3000 will only use 1.7 GB of RAM maximum (Windows 7 though, no mention of Mac OSX).
    source: http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/sb/CS-029090.htm#max

    Since we can't make the chip use a set minimum or maximum on a mac, I don't think it's worth swapping out the 4GB sticks for 6GB or 8GB sticks, unless you do heavy multitasking.
     
  2. motoracer1486 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    #2
    I have 8GB and currently only have 3.59 GB free. I only have a few things open too. 4GB definitely wouldn't be sufficient.
     
  3. Joel95 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    #3
    4 GB used by a few apps? Those apps must be demanding
     
  4. tonyunreal, Jul 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011

    tonyunreal macrumors regular

    tonyunreal

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #4
    1GB of video memory is a lot, and games that need a lot of video memory tend to be more power hungry on rendering speed and video memory bandwidth. Considering the subpar performance of the HD3000 and the slower access to shared system memory, I think running out of video memory should be the least of your concern.

    Nonetheless the integrated chip does run a lot of not-so-new games, and some casual games with simple graphics play very smooth at native resolution.
     
  5. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #5
    I thought I read here that the 3000 will take more than 384 MB Of RAM if 8 GB is installed. I have 8 GB on order and will take a look when it arrives.

    Not sure if it makes much difference.
     
  6. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    I have the high end 15" 2011 mbp 2.2ghz with 4gb of ram (I get my 8gb sticks Monday) and I've never had any issues with heavy multitasking. I actually have no issues at all. The only reason for the upgrade is because I have about 30 excel files ranging from 5 - 25mb's that i have to scan through and we all know that if a file is a mb in excel that's a heck of a lot of data. I also want to have 8 for when I switch from Bootcamp to VMFusion for Win 7 Pro.
     
  7. llenuts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    #7
    Just had a look at details of my 2011 MBP 13" i7 w/ 8gb RAM and its showing VRAM used by the HD3000 at 512mb. I was unaware the VRAM increased with more system RAM so I'm pleased to see that :)
     
  8. Kyzelios macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    The following Apple Support document outlines how Intel-based Macs with integrated video utilize system memory: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3246

    For the Intel HD Graphics 3000 found in the MacBook Pro (Early 2011):

    Hope that helps, have a great day! :)
     

Share This Page