HDAPM not working... please help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AlphaDogg, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #1
    I recently upgraded my HDD to a 500gb 7200RPM Hitachi Travelstar. It makes sounds like it is parking the drive heads every 5 seconds. I know that this is just an OS X power management problem with the drive, because it does not do this under bootcamp. I have set up HDAPM correctly- I followed the instructions in the read me supplied with HDAPM, rebooted and searched for a thread with "HDAPM" in it, in console. No dice. Please help me get HDAPM correctly set up.

    Thanks,
    AlphaDogg
     
  2. emiljan macrumors 6502

    emiljan

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    Here is what i did to get it working. You need to download a program called Lingon to add new launch items. You can get it here. After that follow these instructions:

    1. Move the file hdapm into /Applications/Utilities/ and authenticate.

    2. With Lingon, create a new launchd configuration file with these settings:
    -- "Where" is "Users Daemons."
    -- "Name" is something like
    com.yourusername.launchd.hdapm
    Replace "yourusername" with your OS X account name. (That's the name next to the house in your Finder sidebar, and it's case sensitive.)
    -- "What" is /Applications/Utilities/hdapm disk0 max
    (That's a zero following "disk", not the letter O. And don't leave out the initial slash!)
    -- "When" is "Run it when it is loaded by the system (at startup or login)."

    3. Save and authenticate. This places the file com.yourusername.launchd.hdapm.plist in /Library/LaunchDaemons, from where it will run the specified Terminal command with root privileges at startup or login.

    4. Restart, then open Console. Search on "hdapm." You should see lines like this:


    If you have any issues let me know!
     
  3. AlphaDogg thread starter macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #3
    What do you mean by"'what is...' and 'when is'"?
     
  4. AlphaDogg thread starter macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #4
    Nevermind :)... I figured it out.... Had the wrong version of lingon installed... After I followed your instructions correctly, I got it to work! Thanks a bunch :).

    AlphaDogg
     
  5. emiljan macrumors 6502

    emiljan

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    Your Welcome!

    You don't need Lingon anymore so you can remove it if you want. Your settings will still stay in place.
     

Share This Page