HDD: 7200 Performance vs Battery Life

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Propagator4, Jan 23, 2011.

1. Propagator4 macrumors newbie

So my 60 GB Macbook is filled almost to the brim, way more than is recommended. I'm a student now, and don't want to buy a new laptop until I graduate, so need a bigger internal hard drive. This also means I'm focusing on cheaper disk drives rather than solid state drives. Can someone give me some advice? I'm trying to decide between a 250GB 7200rpm and a 320GB 5600rpm. Here's what I'm thinking:

I WAS looking at a 250GB 5600rpm until I saw that it was only $5 to upgrade either the capacity or the spin speed on OWC. I'm curious about how much of a difference the extra 1600rpm will make in terms of performance. I only have 2GB of RAM, so I imagine my computer is somewhat likely to need to temporarily write stuff onto the disk when my RAM is full and thus would benefit from the 1600rpm. However, my battery is also going downhill, so I'm worried about how much extra battery a 7200rpm disk is likely to use than my current 5600rpm.

One added item of interest is that the 250GB 7200rpm has 16MB cache, while the 320GB 5600rpm has 8MB. I figured 8MB would be plenty, but maybe I'm wrong.

Thoughts?

2. GGJstudios, Jan 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2011

GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

It's not just the rotation speed; it's also the density of the drive. A higher-density 5400 rpm drive can be faster than lower-density 7200 rpm drives. In addition, some 7200 drives require less power than some 5400 counterparts. If the two drives you're considering are of the same manufacturer, chances are you'll notice little, if any, impact on battery life with either. The larger cache on the 7200 is desirable, but again, the difference will be negligible in day-to-day usage, unless you routinely have significant read/write operations going on. Most users' hard drives are idle more than they're active.