HDD and SSD for video editing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jerryj14, Apr 12, 2013.

1. jerryj14 macrumors newbie

Hello,

First of all, I am new to this whole industry. Please forgive my ignorance.

I am looking at replacing the optical drive in my MacBook Pro 13" with a Samsung 840 120GB SSD. I am getting into HD video editing and I want my system to run as fast as I can get it without having to buy a whole new computer.

So my question is this: would it be better to run my OS and editing applications on the SSD and leave my media on my HDD that has a rotational rate of 5400 or would it be better to move my media files to the SSD along with the OS and applications during editing?

Also, as a side question: is 120GB enough space to have both my OS and all my applications work well or should I go for a 200-250GB SSD?

2. ColdCase, Apr 12, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2013

ColdCase macrumors 68030

There are a few levels of HD. If you are talking about pulling in HD video and then edit, a 60 minute video from a consumer class camera (some compression) is 15-20GB . HD video chews up storage space amazingly fast.

You need to worry about speed only if you are capturing from tape. Otherwise it is a digital world without time constraints until you get to the point of burning.

What most do is set up your video editing software scratch disk on the fastest drive you have and leave the media itself on drives with plenty of space. When you export the edited movie you will want to export to the fastest drive you have, and move the file later to high capacity storage or into a DVD project.