HDD CLICKING.. ABOUT TO FAIL?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by james1758, Apr 3, 2016.

1. james1758 macrumors regular

james1758

Hi all,

I first noticed my hard drive 'clicking' about a year/ 6months ago(?), recently it has been clicking a lot more, maybe once every 5mins? Sometimes multiple clicks in a row!

Is my HDD about to fail??

The laptop is fairly old now and I've had it throughout my teenage years so its taken a beating; it's horrendously slow, getting the beach ball every 5mins (literally), and sounds like its about to take off (cleaning the fans no longer helps).

Despite this, the laptop still does its job and I'm a student so money is tight. I'll buy a new mac in a year or so.

I presume now is the time to replace the HDD with an SSD, and I'm hoping this will in turn make my laptop run slightly smoother as well?? :rolleyes::D

James.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 3, 2016 ---
    Oh also, the main reason I made this thread was that my laptop screen stayed black for about 5mins after being in sleep mode, it wouldn't respond when I clicked the trackpad/ keys. Was slightly worrying.

2. AFEPPL macrumors 68020

AFEPPL

The head actuator may click or knock as the drive repetitively tries to recover from one or more errors.
    Yes, id look to move quickly before it becomes too late.

3. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

keysofanxiety

Almost certainly. Verify by downloading SMART Utility if you're on OS X (versions earlier than 10.9 here), or if you're on Windows, you can check by downloading HD Tune Pro here and checking the health tab.

4. james1758, Apr 3, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016

james1758 thread starter macrumors regular

james1758

Thanks for the reply, I'll move myself over to amazon now!
    --- Post Merged, Apr 3, 2016 ---
    Quick question, would you recommend repairing the disk through DiskUtility before cloning the HDD?

Or will this make absolutely no difference as I'm going to replace that HDD with an SSD anyways?