HDD icon missing

Discussion in 'macOS' started by xcitu, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. xcitu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #1
    Hi.
    Some time ago I started using Pathfinder and after some time my HDD icon disappeared. I didn't make much out of it then, but now I'm tired of Pathfinder and I want everything back to normal.
    My HDD icon, CD's and external volumes that I connect doesn't show. Not screenshots either, or other types of files.
    [​IMG]
    As you can see there is nothing in the upper right corner.

    What I've tried:
    A Apple-guide where I install Xcode--->Run some sudo command in Terminal--->Reboot, but it didn't work.
    Tried to find my HDD in Finder and drag it onto the desktop, but no success.
    Opened Pathfinder again and went to "/volumes" and found out that the volumes folder was hidden. I "unhid" it, reboot, but still the same.


    Anyone got a solution to my problem?

    Thanks.
     
  2. devburke Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #2
    Well if even screenshots and files don't show, I'm not sure. But before I reached that part of your post, I was going to suggest going into the Finder Preferences and checking whether or not you have it set to show hard disks and such on the desktop (I'm on a Tiger machine now so this is an outdated screenshot, but it should be pretty much the same).
     

    Attached Files:

  3. xcitu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #3
    Yes, I've tried that but it didn't work. Something else?

    Running SL btw.

    Thanks for answering. :)
     
  4. zw-gator macrumors 6502a

    zw-gator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    You may have sorted your problem by now, but if not then I hope this helps!!!

    I had exactly the same problem with Snow Leopard, no desktop icons. According to finder things were still on my desktop.

    What I did was to change the resolution to something different and then change it back again. The Icons reappear. Seems like there is a bug with SL which changes the resolution or that this refreshes the screen???
     

Share This Page