HDD in optibay issues (error code -50)

bxskxts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 16, 2017
8
0
I moved my HDD into the optical drive port and replaced the boot drive to SSD with success.
Unfortunately, I damaged the optical drive cable, so drives werent recognized in the optibay. I ordered a new one, and it seems to work - I can read files from the HDD and all, but:
-when I try to move files around it gives the error code -50 - this happens randomly, sometimes only when moving to trash from the HDD and sometimes even when trying to copy anything onto it
-when I try to erase the HDD partition, it gives me the message "couldnt unmount disk" - when i try to erase it gives the error "wiping volume data to prevent future accidental probing failed"
-if I check first aid in disk utility, sometimes it says there's no problems and sometimes it says that it discovered a problem which needs to be fixed through recovery partition - I go there, fix it and it's okay again but still can't move files

is all of that a reason of a faulty cable? the site i bought it on did say it was "renewed"...
[doublepost=1500236076][/doublepost]also - this happens to any drive i put in the optibay, so it's not a disk issue. when i put back the original superdrive it doesn't work at all, it doesnt get detected by the OS and the discs don't read, although it does spin and seems to get power from the computer
 

Audit13

macrumors 603
Apr 19, 2017
5,053
1,277
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
If the HDD works properly in the HD bay, it's a good chance that the small optical sata cable is damaged. Do you think it could be a problem with the motherboard connection?
 
Comment

bxskxts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 16, 2017
8
0
If the HDD works properly in the HD bay, it's a good chance that the small optical sata cable is damaged. Do you think it could be a problem with the motherboard connection?
i don't see why it would be the motherboard, everything worked fine until i destroyed the original sata cable... I'll try to return this one and buy a new one, from another site maybe.
 
Comment

bxskxts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 16, 2017
8
0
worst case scenario, do you know how much does a motherboard connection repair cost?
 
Comment

bxskxts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 16, 2017
8
0
I bought a replacement cable, although i have reasons to think it may be the problem: on the site it said its a renewed cable, so it may have been used before, and also the markings on it are different than on my original cable (another manufacturer perhaps? the part serial number is the same). I don't have another macbook sadly.
 
Comment

chscag

macrumors 68040
Feb 17, 2008
3,640
1,235
Fort Worth, Texas
I bought a replacement cable, although i have reasons to think it may be the problem: on the site it said its a renewed cable, so it may have been used before, and also the markings on it are different than on my original cable (another manufacturer perhaps? the part serial number is the same). I don't have another macbook sadly.
As you have already been advised in another forum, replace the cable with a new one. Error 50 is an I/O error meaning data corruption. Swap the SATA cable out with a new one and if the I/O errors continue, then you can consider further trouble shooting the problem.
 
Comment

Audit13

macrumors 603
Apr 19, 2017
5,053
1,277
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I recommend getting another optical cable to be sure. If it's still a problem, it could be a motherboard issue if you know the HDD and optical drives are functional.
 
Last edited:
Comment

bxskxts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 16, 2017
8
0
So I bought a new cable. At first glance everything seems to work, the drive is now recognized, I can copy and delete files and all that, but the speeds are very slow... Blackmagic test says 100MB/s both save and read. First time I started my laptop with it I wanted to move some files to unburden my SSD, from 60GB it copied about 40GB and then the drive crashed and ejected. Restarted and it was back on, still slow though.
[doublepost=1501093657][/doublepost]EDIT: I've put in another drive (my original apple hd) and everything works like a charm.
 
Comment

bxskxts

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 16, 2017
8
0
Yes, the original HDD works with the new sata cable and the HDD i tried to use before didn't.
The not-working HDD is a hitachi Z7K500-320 and I have a macbook pro 15 mid-2012. It works with a USB case though, so I'm just going to use it for backup.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.