HDD in Optibay spin up..

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by esadb, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. esadb macrumors 65816

    esadb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #1
    So I installed my 500gb in the Optibay of my early 2011 13" MBP. I've noticed it spins up and down and I've read a few questions in regards to that where it talks about sleep timers and unmounting the drive.

    My question is,

    If I unmount the drive, isn't it technically unavailable then until it's mounted again?

    Since that drive contains all media files, pictures etc.. If I wanted to play a movie the device would require to be mounted at all times. Am I wrong here?

    Would the changing the sleep timer affect the drive in performance in anyway? And last night, was I supposed to install the SSD in the Optibay instead of the HDD?
     
  2. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #2
    Take a look at this... worked on my cMBP 2011 Toshiba drive.

    http://mckinlay.net.nz/hdapm/
     
  3. esadb thread starter macrumors 65816

    esadb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #3
    So this is simple as just installing it? Cause I can't seem to find any sort of software or anything to edit settings.

    I installed it and I'll leave it be for a bit and see what happens.

    Is this the same issue you were having an then this resolved it for you?
     
  4. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #4
    It's just a command line tool, no UI. Check the usage guide for the parameters.
     
  5. esadb thread starter macrumors 65816

    esadb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #5
    Well I figured as much. But is the actual thing predefined once I install it? Or do I need to start running commands in the terminal for this to actually kick in?

    I see it launches during startup but are any parameters set?
     
  6. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #6
    I ran it once with the MAX parameter, and that was it. Seems to keep working after a reboot.
     
  7. esadb thread starter macrumors 65816

    esadb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #7
    yah that won't work..

    I get permission denied when I try to run the max command.
     
  8. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
  9. esadb thread starter macrumors 65816

    esadb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #9
    Got success now :)

    Was it wise of me to set this max parameter on both the SSD (main HDD) and HDD (optibay) drives?
     
  10. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #10
    Cool.

    I don't know what built in power management the SSD would have, and if it would make a difference.

    I only enabled it on my HDD
     
  11. esadb thread starter macrumors 65816

    esadb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #11
    LMAO well thats what I wanted to do but the usage guide says the hdapm takes 2 parameters.

    How do you do it with just one? Ill set it back to default and then do it only for the optibay.
     

Share This Page