HDD Spoofing!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jmonster66, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. jmonster66 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #1
    I got hardware ID banned from a game.
    is there any way i can spoof my hardware id on a mac?
    i can do it on windows...
     
  2. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    Hmmm, usually this means you did something really bad. Don't think there is anyway around it.
     
  3. jmonster66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #3
    yeah, i kinda did.
    but its really messed up because staff contacted me ingame, and told me to make sure it doesnt happen again, and that i wasnt going to be banned...

    but yeah.

    I REALLY hope theres a way around this though
     
  4. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #4
    It helps to know what game, and what you did.
     
  5. jmonster66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #5
    I got banned from second life.
    for stealing people's money.
     
  6. MarkMS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #6
    Sorry, but what is HDD (hard drive?) spoofing and hardware ID? I thought the only way to ban someone permanently was by using their Mac (not Macintosh/OS X related) address that's on a network card. Am I missing something?
     
  7. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
  8. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #8
    He must have had his Mac Adress banned, due to why you got banned im not going to tell you how to fix it, but its incredibly simple.
     
  9. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    I'm not sure it's possible for a website to ban a MAC address.

    Google is your best friend. Always.
     
  10. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #10
    And if you go through a router, how would a host know your MAC address? Doesn't the router hide it? Externally aren't you showing the router's MAC address?
     
  11. MarkMS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #11
    I don't think this was from a website, but from a downloadable game. That's how they got the MAC address to ban him.
     

Share This Page