hdd to ssd upgrade with bootcamp help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fineaddme, Jan 17, 2012.

  1. fineaddme macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #1
    hi all
    i bought my first ssd for my early 2011 15" mbp.
    its a Crucial M4 512GB SSD and wanted some suggestions and help on how to set it up with bootcamp.

    i currently have lion and win7 on my hdd and also interested on installing ubuntu for triple boot but i have ubuntu on a vm right now.
    i am not sure whats the best way to set this all up.
    specially with win7 on the ssd. are there any specific settings i should change on win7 to have it properly setup with the ssd?
    i plan on using winclone to copy my win7 partition and moving that onto the ssd. is that ok to do or should i reinstall win7?
    and should i place my 750gb hdd in the optibay slot?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    You're going to need rEFIt.


    No, why would there be? A SSD is the same thing as a hard drive, only the medium changes.

    Moving the partition over will not work with default OS X tools. You may be able to do this with 3rd party utilities such as WinClone, but personally I suggest you simply reinstall and save yourself potential trouble.

    If it has a built-in sudden motion sensor you can. If not I'd leave it in the regular HD spot.
     
  3. fineaddme thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #3
    why would i leave the hdd in hdd slot if i am replacing it with ssd?
    the ssd is a sata3 ssd and the hdd slot is rated for sata3
     
  4. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #4
    It's really up to you, for extra protection I'd leave a non sudden-motion sensor equipped drive in it's original spot. If your hard drive has a SMS, disregard this.

    If you don't know what I'm talking about, a trip to Google would explain this better than I could.
     
  5. fineaddme, Jan 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2012

    fineaddme thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #5
    i know about sms. it was just a general question.

    my hdd is a 750gb toshiba but not sure if it has built in sms
     
  6. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #6
    The MBP has it's own SMS connected to the normal HD bay, which is why I mentioned this at all. It may cause problems or it may not, I have not done this mod myself.
     

Share This Page