hdmi 2.0 adapter (4k@60hz) for nmp

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fabric17, Dec 2, 2014.

  1. fabric17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #1
  2. EdDuPlessis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #2
    Why don't you have thunderbolt to display port cable?
     
  3. fabric17 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #3
    My monitor has only hdmi 2.0 imput (samsung tv)... :-(
     
  4. megalaser macrumors 6502

    megalaser

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #4
    I tried that adaptor and only got 30hz so I returned it.
     
  5. fabric17 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #5
    Thanks . Only one question : did you try the correct cable? (true HDMI 2.0)
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
  7. Moonjumper macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #7
    The cables didn't change from 1.4 to 2.0.
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    But a wrong cable will change the 2.0 back to 1.4.
     
  9. fabric17 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #9
  10. Moonjumper macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #10
    A cable will work or it won't work, it doesn't drop to a lower spec.

    They didn't change. To quote the article:

    And to quote the HDMI organisation themselves:

    There weren't even 1.4 cables, again quoting CNET in an earlier article ( http://www.cnet.com/news/still-more-reasons-why-all-hdmi-cable-are-the-same/ ):

    You need a High Speed cable, which almost all should be by now, and have nothing to do with 1.4 or 2.0. Even ones that are not high speed might work, as mentioned in the fabric17's CNET link.

    Also note that the HDMI organisation appear to restrict manufacturers from listing the version number in device specs. This might be to simplify things for the customer, but actually makes it a lot more difficult. I checked Sony and Samsung UHD TV specs on their own websites, and don't mention HDMI 2.0. Look on Apple's page for the rMBP. It says Magsafe 2, Thunderbolt 2 and USB 3, but only HDMI.

    HDMI version numbers are a nightmare for consumers. A UHD TV can have all, some, or none of it's HDMI ports supporting 2.0, with variations even between different models by the same manufacturer, but the specifications don't tell you directly.
     
  11. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
  12. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #12
    I think you're going to need an active adaptor to go from DP1.3 to HDMI 2.0. Which doesn't seem to exist yet.
     
  13. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #13
    I think you meant DP 1.2, not DP 1.3, but yes, it would have to be an active adapter. A quick search turns up a recently released a DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 converter chip (Explore Microelectronics EP963E), so it's technically possible and highly likely that someone will eventually drop one of these into an adapter.
     
  14. h9826790, Dec 3, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2014

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    Source HDMI 2.0 4K 60Hz -> Good cable -> HDMI 2.0 input = work = HDMI 2.0 standard

    Source HDMI 2.0 4K 60Hz -> Bad cable -> HDMI 2.0 input = won't work = No HDMI 2.0 standard

    Source HDMI 2.0 4K 30Hz -> Bad cable -> HDMI 2.0 input = work = HDMI 1.4 standard

    I mean a bad cable will pull the whole system down to HDMI 1.4 standard, but not convert the HDMI 2.0 signal (e.g. 4K 60Hz) back to the HDMI 1.4 signal (e.g. 4K 30Hz).
     
  15. fabric17, Dec 4, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2014

    fabric17 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #15
    Thanks to everybody precious contribution

    now I am a little confused...
    a suggestion about a "good cable" I should buy?
     
  16. Moonjumper macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #16
    HDMI is a digital signal that works or doesn't work, the cable does no interpretation. 4K 30Hz is covered by 1.4, it is not a 2.0 input.

    Any cable should be fine if it is "High Speed", which most are. Avoid really bulky cables, which tend to be the expensive ones with more shielding, because the weight puts extra strain on the port.
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    That's what I want to say. The source is HDMI 2.0 (hardware), but unable to deliver a functional 4K 60Hz signal to a HDMI 2.0 standard monitor (or TV), And only able to deliver 4K 30Hz (which included in the HDMI 2.0 standard, and not a HDMI 1.4 ONLY standard) signal by a bad cable.

    What's that means? The "whole system" is pulled down to the HDMI 1.4 standard (which is backward compatible by HDMI 2.0).

    And what's the cause? The cable!
     
  18. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #18
    Any cable. HDMI is digital, so cable quality doesn't matter.

    Well, assuming the cable isn't cut in half or something.

    A lot of people just pick up whatever at monoprice.com

    ----------

    HDMI 2.0 looks like it's just an increased clock rate on HDMI. The cable hasn't changed. There is no new HDMI 2.0 standard for cables, and there is no such thing as an HDMI 2.0 cable.
     
  19. Moonjumper macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #19
    Please show a source for this please. It goes against what other sources say, including the HDMI organisation itself.

    An HDMI cable is dumb. It can send a signal or it cannot. Plus there is no HDMI 1.4 cable standard, and there is no HDMI 2.0 standard.
     
  20. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #20
    I didn't say there is a HDMI 1.4 standard cable, I just said "good / bad" cable. And a bad cable can pull the whole system down if it cannot successfully transmit 4K 60Hz signal.
     
  21. Moonjumper macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #21
    Again, please provide your source for that.
     
  22. h4nc0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    #22
    You need an active DP to HDMI 2.0 adapter. Currently there's no such adapter. I've read on other forums that such adapters will be released early next year.
     

Share This Page