HDMI connectivity issue

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by axisdrama, Feb 25, 2008.

  1. axisdrama macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #1
    Have either of the following HDMI issues happened to you?...

    1. I've noticed that since connecting to my tv via hdmi cable, when I switch my TV input to HDMI, I see the TV slideshow for a split second, it then flashes to black, I have to wait several seconds, and then the same slideshow (same pics) comes back up again. It's like the HDMI connection needs to warm back up or something -- I just don't know why it would show the TV slideshow for a second at first though??

    2. I've also noticed that if I go to crazy modifying the volume (turning it up and down), the audio will totally cut out for a split second.

    Do I just have a bad TV/cable/connection or has this happened to you, too?
     
  2. applehappy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #2
    Same problem here. I actually get a sort of partial reboot sometimes since using HDMI. I'll see the first flash of the pictures on my screen saver after switching to the :apple:tv hdmi input and then the screen goes dead with a silver apple logo for about 30-45 seconds, then it will go back to working without showing the boot-up demo.
     
  3. gauchers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    #3
    Same here

    Having same HDMI problem with my ATV2 w/ Philips LCD.
     
  4. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #4
    I don't think this is really a problem...

    Most TVs and/or intelligent devices (computers, including AppleTV) use the DCC information from the HDMI cable to set the display mode. When you switch to a source where both devices are intelligent (the TV and computer/:apple:TV), they do alot of back and forth.

    Interestingly enough, this doesn't happen to me with my Xbox, which has a forced, set display mode (1080p per my settings) while my MBP will flip the LCD on/off a few times to figure out what its doing.
     
  5. bleodler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #5
    I'm having the same issue since the Take 2 update, the previous software versions worked fine. All of my other HDMI sources work fine with my display also (Optoma HD70). When I switch to my AppleTV it will flash on the screen for a few seconds and then show a no signal message. It will ususally sync after a few minutes of searching for a signal, I've found playing a song through air tunes so the now playing screen is up on the Apple TV will help it come up quicker.
     
  6. hydrokayak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Lancaster, NH
    #6
    I have had a lot of problems with HDMI on my television, and have done my research. I have a Westinghouse HDTV -- with two HDMI inputs.

    A lot of issues arrive when the HDMI tries to authenticate the two devices. Because of the HD nature of the stream -- the devices must perform an HDMI handshake -- to ensure the stream isn't being recorded. It's a form of DRM used to protect the content.

    The issue really can't be resolved easily. HDMI is still a new technology -- and kinks have to be worked out effectively. In the long run, it will get resolved (I hope), but we just need to deal with it.

    I recommend using component if you really don't care about 1080 streams. I use an HDMI cable for my cable box -- which doesn't authenticate -- so no problems there. As soon as I use HDMI for my xbox or ATV -- I get issues. I just unplug the device from the HDMI port, and plug it back in. It works fine after that. I think that with a 720p screen, the HDMI isn't a true benefit -- just a convenience of having a single cable. Right now, I'm using all component with the exception of my cable box -- a Motorola from Comcast. I just use optical for audio to get that 5.1 audio feed to my speakers.

    Hope this helps -- even though it's rather long.:apple:
     
  7. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #7
    I just noticed this problem today on my Panny plasma.

    I think it might be a issue on Apple's end as it seems a lot of others are having this issue.
     
  8. MikieMikie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #8
    So, with my Apple TV and my Samsung (HDMI connection), there's the exact same situation as the OP stated: a brief flash, a black screen, then back to the slide show.

    Interestingly enough, with version 1.0 and 1.1, the Samsung failed to recover and I would typically switch the Apple TV to 1080i before shutting off the TV to avoid total black.

    It's doing something like a negotiation, reset of video modes, or something like that. Nothing to worry about. Perfectly normal.
     
  9. axisdrama thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #9
    Thanks for the reply, guys! It makes me more assured that there's nothing necessarily wrong with my hardware :)
     

Share This Page