HDMI cutting out

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by zacmobile, May 28, 2016.

  1. zacmobile macrumors newbie

    zacmobile

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #1
    3rd gen Apple TV, Sony Bravia TV (2009 I believe) As the title says HDMI (audio & video) cuts out intermittently, sometimes losing it completely but usually just cuts in and out with no discernible pattern; doesn't matter if it's hot or cold, been running a long time or just turned on. Tried changing cables, no difference. I can induce the behaviour and make it frap out if I jiggle the cable and it seems to make it better for a while if I unplug the HDMI cable & plug it back in. It's been doing this pretty much since day one. Any tips would be appreciated. A search didn't turn up anything useful.
     
  2. Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
  3. zacmobile thread starter macrumors newbie

    zacmobile

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #3
    I don't remember exactly but it was soon after getting the apple TV, I don't have any other HDMI connectable devices so I can't tell if it's the TV or Apple TV's fault.
     
  4. Superspeed500 macrumors regular

    Superspeed500

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    #4
    I have heard about TVs that crashes TV decoders connected with HDMI into an unsusable state, but never heard about simular issues with other types of TV boxes.

    Have you tried the following?:
    - Plug it into a diffrent HDMI port.
    - Reset the TV settings to factory defaults.
    - Try the Apple TV in a diffrent TV or monitor.
    - Reset the Apple TV to factory defaults.
     
  5. zacmobile thread starter macrumors newbie

    zacmobile

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #5
    -Yes, but not for a while, i'll try it again.
    -Never tried this, didn't know it was possible, i'll look into it.
    -I don't have another TV or HDMI compatible monitor.
    -Tried this many times, nothing changes.
     
  6. Superspeed500 macrumors regular

    Superspeed500

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    #6
    Here are some general instructions for reseting Sony TVs.
     
  7. zacmobile thread starter macrumors newbie

    zacmobile

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #7
    Well I switched it to the other HDMI port on the Bravia, no change. That's what I figured but I hadn't tried it in ages so...
     

Share This Page