HDMI input on Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by xxMacAttackxx, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. xxMacAttackxx macrumors member

    xxMacAttackxx

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    Hello,
    I apologize if this has been covered, I tried searching and had no luck.

    Does anybody know how I can have an hdmi input on my mac pro, so I can use HD devices such as a blu-ray player and Xbox 360 on my monitor (which does not have any built in upscaling hardware so I cannot use an HDMI - DVI-D cable).

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    I have a Dell 3007wfp

    Thanks
     
  2. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #2
    Nope. HDMI is encrypted specifically to prevent this. Get a monitor with HDMI.
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    This Dell monitor supports HDCP. You should have no problem using an HDMI to DVI-D adapter for Xbox360 and Blu-Ray playback, including commercial Blu-ray movies.

    I'm really surprised the monitor wouldn't have scaling, even cheap monitors have scaling. But even if you are right about that you'll still be able to watch the movie, albeit with black bars.
     
  4. xxMacAttackxx thread starter macrumors member

    xxMacAttackxx

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    Yea I was surprised to find out it didn't have scaling. I have attempted to use the hdmi to DVI-D connector and the monitor just remains black. I may give the eyetv HD a shot and see if that can be used for games without lag.

    Are there any component inputs that i could use that would be lag free?
     
  5. xxMacAttackxx thread starter macrumors member

    xxMacAttackxx

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    Thanks goMac, I have already seen that. The problem is that is roughly 720p resolution, which sort of defeats the purpose of the blu-ray. Thus I am looking for an option that gives me 1080p. I will be trying an Elgato Eyetv HD tomorrow and will post on my findings.

    I appreciate the help, thanks guys
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    Bluray does not allow 1080p over component...
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    Wow, I would pretty much call that Dell model to be a defective line if it has an HDMI input supporting HDCP but won't display standard 1080p despite having sufficient resolution.

    I can't think of any lag-free way to do what you are trying to do, and the HDCP encryption would be a barrier anyway.
     

Share This Page