HDMI TV output displays little white dots

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Merkyworks, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. Merkyworks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #1
    So I purchased the Kanex MD port to HDMI cable so that I can watch nteflix on my TV. When I plug it in everything is fine but I am getting these little white dots that scroll/show up on the entire TV screen, they are about a single pixel in size. I have tried different resolution settings and this has not changed anything.

    my specs are.

    1. 2011 MBP 15" 2.0 w/ ATI HD 6490M, TV screen output is set to 1080p

    2. Samsung 50" plasma 720p, product info http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/PN50C450B1DXZA-features

    3. Kanex MD port to HDMI cable http://store.apple.com/us/product/H4637ZM/A?fnode=MTY1NDA3Ng&mco=MjA4NjU2MjY


    any thoughts to what could be causing this?
     
  2. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #2
    Try different source material (if you haven't already) like a DVD.

    If not that, try a different cable. Monoprice.com has some quality ones for a few dollars.
     
  3. Merkyworks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #3
    well my u-verse box is normally plugged into the hdmi port that im plugging my MBP into and I have never experienced this issue before so im ruling out the hdmi port or the TV as the problem. so that leaves either the laptop of the cable. i guess ill try the cable on another TV and see if it does the same thing.
     
  4. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #4
    Have you plugged the u-verse box back in to see if the problem goes away?
     
  5. Merkyworks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    yes, I have been going back and forth and when viewing video from the u-verse box there are no bots.
     
  6. Merkyworks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #6
    ok so when I got home I hooked my MBP to another TV that I have and I do not see any white dots, so that rules out the cable and the comp. I read a post on the ATV forum about this but it seems the problem was due to processor issues.

    any reason why my samsung TV is making this happen?
     
  7. Merkyworks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #7
    I'm posting this for any future searches.

    I figured out that by having the resolution set to 1080p I get the little white dots but if i set the resolution to 1080i or lower I get a perfect picture. I guess it has something to do with the TV only being 720p.
     
  8. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #8
    That was my first guess, but in your OP you said:

     
  9. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #9
    You were trying to display a lot more pixels than what you TV has, of course it came out funky, you're lucky something showed up on the screen at all.

    A 720P TV can only display 720P or lower. 1080i might work.
     
  10. Merkyworks thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #10
    your right i did say that, i guess brain farted or something. obviously there is a big difference in the resolution between 720p and 1080i and it really is noticeable when displayed on the TV screen. The white dots are obviously tied to the type of signal 1080p Vs 1080i. Progressive signals send the entire frame at once whereas the interlaced signal is sent in two intervals, that and the fact that the TV is only 720p must be the reason.
     

Share This Page