HDMI Video Input to iMac late 2011?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by sebfrey, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. sebfrey macrumors newbie

    sebfrey

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Aptos, CA
    #1
    Hi, I got a new 27" iMac Core i7 a little while ago, and I want to hook it up to my Canon Vixia HF11 camera. The Canon has an HDMI port on it - does anyone know of a way to get the live video out of this camera and into my iMac such that I might use it with say BoinxTV? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
     
  2. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #2
    You would need some kind of capture device. If you have thunderbolt connection on it could use Blackmagic Ultra3D which has HDMI inputs. Don't like Boinxtv, limited and seems to use too many resources, even Camtwist would seem to be a better option. But I use Wirecast.
     
  3. martinX macrumors 6502a

    martinX

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    http://www.boinx.com/boinxtv/equipment/

    The BlackMagic Intensity Extreme might fit the bill, too, but it won't be out until Q4 of this year. (Does anyone else think "Intensity Extreme" is a bit OTT. What's next? "Intensity Extreme Max Pro"?)
    http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/intensity/models/

    Wirecast FAQ:
    http://www.telestream.net/telestream-support/wire-cast/faq.htm#2-01

    Alternatively, run composite (and audio) into an ADVC 55 or ADVC 110 and then into Firewire. It's not HD, but it's doable.
     
  4. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #4
    If ADVC, then not the 55, but the 110. For whatever reason, there will be problems with audio synch when capturing longer programs.
    Returned my 55 and got the 110 - works perfectly!
     
  5. bagelche, Sep 20, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011

    bagelche macrumors 6502

    bagelche

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Western Mass.
    #5
    I had a similar reaction, but my first thought was "Intensity Extreme To The ***** Max!" We can add "Pro" to that, of course.


    (Interesting to see how the forum censors. Never swore here before. I had an F, an apostrophe, and the gerund...starred right out.)
     

Share This Page