HDMI with audio not working

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by louse1312, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. louse1312 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    #1
    I am trying to connect my macbook to an HD tv with an HDMI cable (cable is WITH audio), i plug it all in, go to 'audio' in system preferences to change the output location. However, the only thing that comes up is internal speakers.
    I have tried it on two different tv's with two different cables, and somebody else has used their mac with my cable and tv and it worked fine. But for some reason, my macbook wont give me the option to change audio output. How can i do this?? Whats going wrong?
    It is only the audio that is the problem, the picture is fine.
    Any help? PLEASE!?
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    What model is yours? is it one of the ones that were introduced after april 2010, or is it older? If it's the older model it won't output audio through MDP
     
  3. louse1312, Jan 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011

    louse1312 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    #3
    I got it in January 2010 and i think the model came out just before. Also, whats MDP??
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    MDP is mini displayport, which is the video port on your MacBook. Your model will not output sound through that port.
     
  5. louse1312 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    #5
    great. what other options do i have to output sound?
     
  6. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #6
    Well there's the headphone jack on the side. It also has an optical output in the same jack, so if you connect the optical adaptor to it, you can still get HDMI-quality digital audio out of your computer.
     
  7. louse1312 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    #7
    Thank you! Where would i connect it to on my tv? Does it fit in with HDMI cable somehow?
     
  8. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #8
    No, you need an optical port. Most TVs don't have an optical in port, you'd likely need a receiver for that.
     

Share This Page