Headin to Europe

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hauss316H, Jul 21, 2007.

  1. hauss316H macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    America's Wang!
    #1
    Anyone know if att will charge me if i use edge over in paris? or will my phone even work in paris? my hotel has free wifi and the iphone is gonna be a lifesaver with the map option trying to navigate through the city
     
  2. Daremo macrumors 68000

    Daremo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    I'm going in November, and they told me it will work in Europe. You might want to sign up for the Over seas plan though, to get the .99 a minute rates. Also keep in mind, that's just AT&T's rate, you can still be hit with the service fees from the tower owner or european cell provider. The calls home will add up FAST.
     
  3. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #3
    It's all very expensive and I don't recommend it. We were in holiday in Ireland a couple of years ago and I borrowed my dads phone. I didn't spend long checking my emails and making phonecalls, the cost was astronomical and I've blanked the week after the bill arrived out of my memory.
     
  4. tismfu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #4
    I looked on Apple's spec page to no avail. Is it safe to assume that you don't need a converter to charge the iPhone on 240v systems in Europe?

    Thanks.
     
  5. ydnubm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #6
    You need to call ATT and have them entitle your phone for international roaming and dialing. Calls and data are very expensive, so keep that in mind. The best thing to do is to call the ATT Int'l group directly at 916-843-4685.

    (posted via my iPhone from Sweden)
     
  6. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #7
    The iPhone is quad-band so it should work, but you will be charged international rates.
     
  7. hmp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #8
    Is there any way to turn EDGE off? Let's say I want to have my iPhone in Europe, but don't want it to transfer any data at all. Can I tell AT&T I only want voice and no data?
     

Share This Page