headphone socket replacement, need advice!

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by ricrhys, May 11, 2010.

  1. ricrhys macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #1
    I have recently brought this on ebay

    Model Name: MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook1,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 2 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MB11.0061.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.4f12
    Serial Number (system): 4**********M
    Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-0016CBCD9FFB
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled


    After a few days of having it @ home I put a film on my TV using my mac's display port, and its 3.5mm jack for the audio. This was when the problem started, the socket felt quite loose when i put it in and got audio from the left side only, the seller is claiming it was working when she sent it.

    So what to do, Im not sure where i stand with ebay and would prefer just to get it sorted, I dont have the money to send it to apple, seeing as what they recommend would be a new logic board, ouch! people have suggested putting foil in, surely if too much is put in it will short the circuit or prevent the jack going in properly.

    I was thinking of removing the logic board and ordering a new jack socket then soldering it in place, then a thought struck me, is the audio in socket identical to the audio out socket, i never use audio in, ever. I was thinking i could swap the two, they look identical inside and out, and both take identical jack's, any ideas if this would work. My friends dad is a ninja on the solder, he knocks up pcb's all the time, he may know just by looking but i cant get it to him yet.

    sorry for the long post

    cheers
    ric
     
  2. ricrhys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #3
    ok

    cheers for the quick reply, how will the mac know that the audio is to go out the usb port?
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    You just select it from the preferences. I am using USB speakers and they work fine
     
  4. max¥¥ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Over there....
    #5
    i can't see any reason you couldn't swap the audio sockets
     
  5. ricrhys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #6
    I think id rather do that

    I think ill give swapping them over a try.
     
  6. MacBookDan macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    West Midlands, England, United Kingdom
    #7
    I would've gone for the USB > 3.5mm.
     
  7. max¥¥ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Over there....
    #8
    it would be simpler but i can see why you would want to swap the ports
     
  8. AshMan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    #9
    Socket may just need a drop of solder to hold it back In place may not need to even swap it.
     
  9. ricrhys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #10
    I'll be getting it done on sun, Providing saturday night isn't too large, illl let you know if it works.
     

Share This Page