Heads-up on drafting on Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Stan Mikulenka, Nov 30, 2010.

  1. Stan Mikulenka, Nov 30, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010

    Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #1
    Hi everybody,
    I don't know how many of you doing drafting & or designing on Mini, but there is AutoCAD now for the Mac (after about 15 years - last one was AutoCAD 14).
    It looks & runs better than the AutoCAD on the PC.
    Here is a screen shot:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
  3. kilowattradio macrumors regular

    kilowattradio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    $4425.00 with subscription. A deal! :eek:
     
  4. rgarjr, Nov 30, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010

    rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #4
    The Mac version is pretty cool.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. lkirkup macrumors newbie

    lkirkup

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #5
    I downloaded the demo the day it was released.
    It is safe to say it has a LONG WAY to go...
    Way too many things don't work or are missing.
    I used it for a few days and went straight back to Windows version in Parallels.

    One of the biggest disappointments for me was the Finder quick look plugin.
    I was expecting a nice preview that could be read from (kind of like PDF's) but all you get is an un-viewable postage stamp.

    I was also expecting some Automator Actions, but again nothing there.

    I look forward to many improvements in the future, but at the moment I'll just sit back and wait.

    (Currently using AutoCAD Electrical 2011 in Parallels on a 24" iMAC)
     
  6. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #6
    yeah it is missing some numerous things that the windows version has. One of the major ones is you can't right click on the toolbars and select which ones to show up, which is good when you're 3d modeling.
     
  7. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #7
    I prefer Siemens NX for CAD and CAM. At work we run it on Win764 and XP32 but it is ported for macs also.

    I haven't tried it on my Mini yet but I have a feeling the little Mini is a bit underpowered for the task.
    ;)
     

Share This Page