Headset not registering

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Leggo0, Feb 4, 2014.

  1. Leggo0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #1
    Hey MacRumors, sorry if this is the wrong place, forgive me since I am new to these forums.

    Anyway, I purchased a Corsair Raptor HS30 headset around christmas time. I hooked it up to my late 2013 Mac Mini and it worked fine for a while, with the mic cutting out randomly sometimes but it always came back. One time it cut out and did not come back so I contacted the Corsair support page for an RMA. I went though the RMA process and I just received the headset. When I plugged it into my computer, same thing! The headset does not register in settings, a voice recording in Quicktime player or on Skype! I contacted the Corsair support again but I was wondering if anyone thought it was my computer and what a fix would be? Thank you for reading and I hope I can get this issue resolved!
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    When you connect it to the audio-in & audio-out ports does it in show up in System Preferences->Sound, Input/Output mini-tabs?
     
  3. Leggo0 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #3
    Since its a Mac Mini and it does not have a built in microphone, "line in" shows up whether the headset is plugged in or not.

    [​IMG]

    It shows that when it is plugged in.. so I really see no problem as to why it wouldn't work. My first thought was my soundcard but then I would be able to listen to music and stuff like that correct?

    I have a mic on my camera so thats what the USB Mic is..
     
  4. Leggo0 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #4
    No one has any ideas...? Encountered this problem...? Anything...?
     
  5. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #5
    Your Mac mini has a line-level analog audio input port:
    http://www.apple.com/mac-mini/specs.html
    Audio line in minijack (digital/analog)
    [Bold added]

    The Corsair Raptor HS30 has a mic-level output:
    http://www.corsair.com/us/gaming-peripherals/gaming-headsets/corsair-raptor-hs30-gaming-headset.html
    System Requirements:
    Any Computer with 3.5mm (1/8”) connectors for audio output and microphone input
    [Bold added]

    The difference between mic-level and line-level signals is at least 100x, or even more. See previous post here:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=14553841

    The short answer is: just because the jacks mate doesn't mean the signal levels are adequate.

    You need to do one of the following:
    - Get a headset with line-level mic output (unlikely; I know of no such product).
    - Get a headset with USB mic and/or headphone I/O (not hard to find, e.g. Corsair Raptor HS40).
    - Get a mic preamp to insert between your current headset's mic jack and the Mac mini's line-level analog in (may cost as much or more than your current headset).


    FWIW, Macs of all kinds have had line-level analog inputs for years, not mic-level. If an unamplified microphone happens to work, it's by luck, rather than design (i.e. the electronic design).
     
  6. subsonix macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #6
    That's true but in this case the input level can be set, and it would be a really odd requirement to ask for a true microphone input, I don't think that is what they mean and I'm not aware of any computer that ship with anything but line inputs. Sound cards that do have separate mic inputs usually have them on XLR connectors with optional 48v phantom power and a preamp, not a 1/8" jack.

    From the link above:

     
  7. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #7
    I understand your point, but I question the accuracy of the linked statement. I think it's simply wrong, but I'm not in a position to test that hypothesis with that particular headset and that particular model of Mac mini.


    First, no Mac has had an actual "microphone input" for years.

    As you may well know, the "mic input" jack of a PC provides a 5V bias voltage through about a 2KΩ resistor, but I can't recall if it's on the tip or the ring (I'd have to look it up). AFAIK, no Mac supplies that, which means that a raw electret condenser mic simply won't work when plugged into a Mac's line-level input.

    Furthermore, the line-level input jack on a Mac is defintely stereo, not mono, as a mic-with-5V-bias jack would be. This can be confirmed using "Audio MIDI Setup.app", located in /Applications/Utilities. On my older Mac mini, I have the option of 2 channels, which is clearly impossible if the input jack were an actual mic input, because a mic input jack has the low-voltage power on one line (tip or ring) and mic input on the other (ring or tip).

    When I adjust the input-level sliders in Audio MIDI Setup.app, I can see and hear the effect with a stereo cable (2 RCA to 1/8" tip-ring-sleeve) plugged in. Thus, I conclude that my older Mac mini doesn't have a mic input, but a stereo line-level input. The specs for my older mini clearly stated "line input" when I bought it.

    I use a USB headset with my mini for mic input. I have also used a dynamic mic with a preamp and my aforementioned adapter cable. The dynamic mic alone did not work, nor did an unamplified electret condenser.

    The Mac mini actually has a combo TRS-toslink jack, but I've never plugged an optical plug into it.


    Second, according to this:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audio_and_video_connector

    The light-blue audio-in jack is stereo line in (equiv to my Mac mini's audio in), and the pink jack is mono mic in. Whether a given PC or sound card has one or both is up to the manufacturer. I have no PCs handy to confirm or refute this color-coding of jacks.
     
  8. Leggo0 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #8
    Well i'm going to be honest and say that half of the information you have supplied to me, I don't understand haha.

    What I do understand though is that i'm going to need to get a USB headset or one that is powered by a USB along with the "line in" Thankyou guys for your time to answer my questions!
     
  9. subsonix macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #9
    I'm not disputing that, I'm questioning if the marketing material for corsair is correct, i.e they really refer to the line input, however since this is a mic it makes sense to just call it mic input. So we seem to agree? I'm not sure I get you here, the link was provided by you.


    Again, my point is I don't think this is the case here since the product page says that it works with PCs and Mac's, desktop, notebooks and laptops.

    So? What do you think happens when you connect a mono plug to a stereo socket. I'm well aware that the input is stereo, but plugging a mono connector to it simply adds the left and right channel together making it dual mono.

    Again, I'm not disputing the fact that Macs have a stereo line input. But that this headset require a mic input, that would seriously limit it's market, it's clearly meant to be used with typical PC and Mac hardware.

    Ok so what?
     

Share This Page