Health Data Gone

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Mlrollin91, Oct 11, 2016.

  1. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #1
    Hey All,

    So I am in a little bit of a panic here. I restored my phone from an encrypted backup. Health data is in my settings, but my health app and activity app refuse to see the data. I have done multiple restores, tried an iCloud backup restore and nothing will get the data to import from settings to the respective apps. The health app sees all of the sources and my MedID card, but thats it.

    I've been chatting with Apple for 2 hours but I want to see if anyone has an idea.

    I have restored, downgraded to 10.0.1 (thinking it could be a 10.0.2 bug), reset all settings with the data already on the device, force quit health and hard reset the phone.

    Thanks
     
  2. sbailey4 macrumors 68030

    sbailey4

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I suppose you didn't go back to 10.1 and try and restore it? That's when it bombed correct? Wonder if it would work if you had 10.1? Just a thought.
     
  3. Mlrollin91 thread starter macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #3
    The backup was from 10.0.1 and 10.0.2 respectively. It was the backup from those versions that were restoring the data but not loading it into the health and activity apps. But no I did not try and at this point not willing to after setting up my phone and watch and starting all the way over again. But I never even created a 10.1 backup so I couldn't try if I wanted to.

    Apple is investigating why the data was restored but the apps wouldn't load the data. They are baffled. My account is in troubleshooting mode and I even gave them permission to install my backup on their test device to see if the issue happens to them as well.
     
  4. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #4
    before i sold my iphone 6 i had an encrypted backup of ios 10.1 beta 1, got 7+ restored that backup after first updating it to same beta, all is there & normal.

    still have access to the original device the backups were from? put 10.1 beta 3 on it, backup, try again?
     
  5. Mlrollin91 thread starter macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #5
    I have access to the devices and backups but not willing to risk losing any more data. I've never had a problem in the past since I got my watch 18 months ago. Clearly a bug in iOS.
     
  6. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #6
    I probably would make a copy of the backup. (Use google to find the backup folder location).. then I actually would delete the current backup.. and force iTunes to create a new backup of the device.. and then I would restore that backup to the new phone
     
  7. Mlrollin91 thread starter macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #7
    Thats not the issue. The data was restored to the device. The health app and activity app would not read the data.
     
  8. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #8
    Theirs a couple of things going on here.. Apple usually never lets you restore a backup from a later version to an earlier version of the software.. usually its blocked in allowing you to restore a backup that was made on 10.0.2 and put it on 10.0.1.. Because if any data table is changed or anything like that, the older version wont be able to convert it or read the data.it doesn't know what to do.. So always be on the latest version..
    Also, backups become corrupt.. Things go wrong in the backup. It happens.. If the table is corrupt in that backup, then of course, the data could be on the phone it just cant read it.. Delete the backup, and let it start over... No matter how many times you restore a corrupt backup on to a phone. you are going to keep getting the same results.. Just start over... You have nothing to lose.. You don't have your health data on your phone right now.. What could it hurt
     
  9. Mlrollin91 thread starter macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #9
    I restored a 10.0.1 backup to 10.0.1. Data transferred, but health app didn't read it.
    I restored a 10.0.2 backup to 10.0.2. Data transferred, but health app didn't read it.
    I restored a 10.0.2 iCloud backup to 10.0.2. Data transferred, bu health app didn't read it.

    The data is transferring to the device, but the health app and activity app do not see the data. It sees all the previous Apple Watch and Phones as sources, it reads my Medical ID card, it reads my weight, height, age and gender, but it refuses to see the actual data that was collected via those sources.

    There is no way 2 iTunes encrypted backups and an iCloud backup were all corrupt. I had no choice but to start over, but I lost massive amounts of data. I always make an iTunes and iCloud backup incase one fails, but in this case they all failed.
     
  10. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #10
    Hmmmm I knew the data wouldn't come over from the iCloud backup.. but theirs an app that will export the health kit data. As well as write it back to the health app.. sometimes it takes a while.. don't know the name of it. But google iOS health data export. And theirs tutorials on how to do it
     
  11. Mlrollin91 thread starter macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #11
    The data does return via iCloud backup. That's well known.

    https://support.apple.com/kb/ph12519?locale=en_US

    The issue isn't restoring the data. It's getting the data on the device to be recognized. According to my Apple Tier 2 Supervisor, Apple has experienced the same problem with their test devices.
     
  12. Defender2010 macrumors 68030

    Defender2010

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #12
    Did you pair the Watch with the phone once you restore the phone backup? Maybe that triggers population of the data. Restore the Watch from a backup too.
     
  13. Mlrollin91 thread starter macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #13
    Yep. Did that as well.
     
  14. teddybearstand macrumors regular

    teddybearstand

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #14
  15. Mlrollin91 thread starter macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #15
    Thanks for the suggestion. I actually tried doing that before 'giving up' and just starting over. I actually already use that app on a regular basis and figured I had nothing to lose and everything to gain. Unfortunately, no dice.

    I should be hearing back from engineers again tomorrow. At this point they can't salvage the data but they can at least try to find the bug.
     
  16. teddybearstand macrumors regular

    teddybearstand

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #16
    Ah. Yeah i remember back when i was jailbroken on iOS9, cydis was causing issues with healthkit data. once saurik fixed the bug, we had to clear the cache manually. Can only be done with root access though.

    But yeah who knows if its even a similar issue.
     
  17. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #17
    I had a similar issue a few months ago on 9.x - my health data restored and appeared OK but steps stopped getting counted - neither my Watch nor my phone could write to the steps counter. I too tried multiple restores and nothing worked:

    After 4 hours with Apple support I ended up starting from scratch with a clean installation and lost all my health data. There's clearly a bug somewhere that is either causing the backups to get corrupted or not restored correctly and it's massively annoyong when it happens!

    The other thing that really, really annoyed me is that they never got back to me as promised (they said they would investigate the issue further) - I even emailed the support contact 3 times and he didn't even bother replying!
     

Share This Page