Heat for long periods

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jimray, Mar 12, 2013.

1. jimray macrumors member

Okay, so I love my early 2011 13" MBP. Recently I started playing world of warcraft again, and I'm happy with the performance. I got a good under cooling pad and I play on an external monitor. From my research I know that at 105 the Mac will shut itself off to ptevent damage. I got istat pro, the fans seem to work correctly, everything looks good. My concern is the temperature it runs at. It runs at a pretty solid 85 degrees while playing. I know it's "normal" given the that I'm playing warcraft. However, it's not uncommon for me to play for 4 straight hours.

Is it a bad idea to have the CPU tenperature be at 85 degrees for around 4 straight hours?

I'm tempted to buy another computer because I worry I will wreak my MBP. Problem is if I buy another MBP or iMac, they will probably run just as hot. That leaves me with buying a PC, something I really don't want to do unless I have to.

Thanks

2. maxosx macrumors 68020

Macs automatically shut down to prevent problems. No worries.

3. jimray thread starter macrumors member

Well, as I said in my original post, I know it shuts down at 105 to prevent damage.

But I'm talking about running it close to its maximum heat for long periods of time. I don't know lots about electronics, but logically, it seems running it close to its maximum for long periods will shorted its lifespan?

4. leman macrumors 604

I have been playing games and running heavy-duty simulations overnight on my 2009 MBP, and it is still ok after years of abuse. Of course, heat has detrimental effects on the health of your electronic components, but I think that you will outgrow your machine (as in - wanting to get a new one) long before it dies.

5. jimray thread starter macrumors member

Okay, thanks, thats good to know. I really don't want to go back to a windows PC, or even buy a new mac, because I love my little MBP.