Hello, and any advice?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Solarplight, Jul 4, 2010.

1. Solarplight macrumors newbie

Hello all,

I am new to both this forum and macs. I run Fedora 12 on my main machine, I recently switched from FreeBSD, and have rarley even touched anything other than a *nix box in years. On different *nix systems I've programmed with Python, C, C++, Perl and Java, my proficiency in that order Python being my most familiar/fav language. Though, being that I program purely for fun, never as job or anything(though I have given small contributions to a couple small opensource projects, none of any major value), I would not call myself an expert, by any means, in any, and barley more than a beginner in Java.

My friend just gave me his old iBook, running OS X 10.3.9, to screw around with, so I'm looking to take up a little mac programming. I'm downloading xcode tools v1.5. right now.

I am really just looking for any info/advice for a '*nix'er learnin some mac stuff. One main thing I am wondering, since mac has become so *nix like, at least that's what I've heard and so it seems(This box seems to have a version of bash on it, allbeit an apparently slimmed down version than what I'm used to). If there are any tools and/or progs that have been ported over, or at least function like, that someone like me might be familiar with. And really wondering what the opensource community for mac is like.

Thank you, in advance, for ay info.

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

Re: the opensource community: fink, darwinports

I would also note there is a bridge from Python to Cocoa so it is possible to write native OSX GUI apps in Python if that's what you are comfortable with. PyObjC.

3. subsonix macrumors 68040

Mac os is from 10.5 not just *nix like but proper Open group certified Unix.

http://www.opengroup.org/openbrand/register/brand3555.htm