Hello - new to Macs so just saying 'hi'

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Plague, Oct 19, 2008.

1. Plague macrumors newbie

Hello all - Im new to Macs and although ive always used PCs of some sort for about 20 years, have never used a Mac - though I've got myself an intel iMac and have to say I love it.

I had a quick query on security - I was a linux user, and I know that linux was fairly good at closing all the ports on your system and running a firewall in the background. Ive been on my security settings and changed my firewall settings but ive no idea how many ports I have open or whether I can close them. 1) is this something I should be worried about? 2) if it is, what should I do to fix it?

Many thanks all!
    Plague

2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

Services are disabled unless you enable them. You don't have to worry about fun things like ftpd, sshd, or httpd running unless you turn them on in the Sharing Preference Pane.

If you're behind a router and NAT there's even less to worry about. I let my router keep the internet background radiation off my machines.

3. Plague thread starter macrumors newbie

Many thanks for that. Ive run a shields-up test and my first 1056 ports where all returned as 'stealth' and the review advised that my system 'didnt exist on the internet' which I suppose is a good thing. I dont use a router, apart from the wi-fi router given to me by my boradband company - which I dont think has any particular bells and whistles!

I was just wondering how to really lock my system down online - hide the ip address or whatever. I dont like the idea of it being vulnerable online and seem to read all-sorts of stories about people leaving their systems vulnerable. Hope that doesnt sound too over the top!

Cheers,
    Plague

4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan