Helmet Camera Advice for Road Biking

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by CMelton, Mar 10, 2011.

1. CMelton macrumors regular

CMelton

Hey guys,

Just wondering if anyone could give me some adive on cameras for my helmet.

I saw an article on the BBC website recently about cyclists being subjected to road rage or forced off the road, and i agree we often are. One solution was to use a small helmet camera to have a visual record of what happens on the road as apparently too often insurance companies don't believe cyclists.

After having a very near miss last night I am a bit worried myself and I'm thinking of a helmet camera.

It should be:

Cheapish (£75 - £100) - not a lot I know but I'm a student.
    SD card
    Doesn't need to be HD, just enough to read number plates.

Any ideas? Would be much appreciated.

2. bluap84 macrumors 6502

3. lee8668 macrumors newbie

The Drift X170 is a good camera and is great value, as it is not too expensive. You also get a lot for your money as it has a built in screen, which most other helmet cameras don't have. There's a useful review of this particular model and many others at http://www.actioncameras.co.uk/reviews_of_helmet_cameras

4. secondhandloser macrumors member

5. bluap84 macrumors 6502

i agree but they arent cheap. And if your just going to be using it to catch bad drivers...gopro seems over kill

but your right they are AMAAAAAAAAAAAAZING!! i love mine :eek::eek::eek:

6. hwojtek macrumors 65816

hwojtek

+1 for GoPro. I use a couple of them for car racing footage, but have been fitting them to virtually anything that moves. Great quality.

7. secondhandloser macrumors member

I don't know about elsewhere, but you can get a standard def gopro for like $50 or so now. Should be manageable on just about any budget.

And it's not like the $230-ish street price on the HD models is a bank-buster. I've spent much more than that on just a waterproof case before...

8. CMelton thread starter macrumors regular