HELP! 1 quick question with buying an iPhone!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by vinay427, Oct 28, 2008.

1. vinay427 macrumors 6502a

vinay427

Hi. This is my first post here. I am thirteen years old and have been saving up for the iPhone for the last 1 to 2 years. I have a question about the App Store. My dad has an iPod Touch and if he's not connected to Wi-Fi the App Store say "You must be connected to a Wi-Fi network." or something like that. I want to know if you can access the App Store over EDGE and 3G if in a car or other place without Wi-Fi. Also, I wasn't sure because the iTunes store is [I think] called the iTunes Wi-Fi Store so that implies it can only be used over Wi-Fi. As I said before, I have been saving up the $200 for the last 2 years. I probably wouldn't have got the iPhone if the price was still like $600, but anyway. . . PLEASE HELP!!!

vinay427

2. imaketouchtheme macrumors 65816

Yes, you can download apps over the 3G network. The reason it is saying that on your dad's iPod is the iPod only has wifi to connect to the internet. The iPhone can use 3G, Edge, or wifi.

3. CrzyCanuck72 macrumors 6502a

you know that $200 is only the cost of the device, and that once you buy it you're going to be on the hook for another $60/$70 per month for the service.

4. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

The help you need is better direction in life.

It's really a lot of work to cut quote.

5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

I don't know if it's changed or not, but as of the last I heard, the limitation is that the iPhone will only download apps smaller than 10MB (most of them, but not, say, Spore or some of the other commercial games) over data services (either EDGE or 3G).

And please do tell me, echoing the thoughts of the others, that you didn't make a deal with your dad that you'd pay $200 for the phone and then he'd pay $100/mo for the service?

6. Small White Car macrumors G4

Small White Car

And what if he did? So what?