HELP! 2008 MacPro Kernal Panic, wont start

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Akula971, May 17, 2009.

  1. Akula971 macrumors regular

    Akula971

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Perfidious Albion
    #1
    Help me please.

    I have a 2008 MacPro Octo 2.8GHz. Whilst I was in Vista64 (a separate drive, not visualization) I was playing a halflife game called day of defeat. The game froze twice, requiring a crtl-alt-del to release it and stop the application that was not working. When I then rebooted into OSX, the "You need to restart your computer" screen appeared in 4 languages, which I believe is the Kernal panic screen.
    I've done the hardware test that reports no problems (D key)
    I've tried re-installing the operating system, (C key), no go just panics.
    I've tried a safe boot (shift) lots of disk activity followed by a panic.
    I've even reset the PRAM, no effect.
    The queer thing is it will boot into Vista64, but there is some screen corruption whilsts its booting, but once in, it works OK with the exception of playing any 3D games, they will not launch (re-installed drivers). Vista reports that there is no 3D hardware acceleration. Does OSX require 3D just to get past the login screen?

    I've removed some ram and removed all the other hard drives.
    I'm beginning to think the 8800GT is playing up, otherwise why would vista still work?, but not 3D games?
    Any ideas? It is just 2 months out of warranty too.

    Is there any software I can use in Vista to check the 8800GT?
    I also noticed that it seemed to be taking longer and longer to shut down.

    Please help.
     
  2. techound1 macrumors 68000

    techound1

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    #2
    Try reseating ALL the ram and swap out the video card if you have an alternate.
     
  3. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #3
    OS X uses the video card alot more then windows. So that could explain it.
     
  4. Akula971 thread starter macrumors regular

    Akula971

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Perfidious Albion
    #4
    It was the video card

    Put a 4870 into my Pro and all is well. I am a little miffed that the hardware diagnostics did not find it. If it had not had not been for the clues given in vista, I probably would have had it into a repair shop and an even bigger bill.
     

Share This Page