Help: 24" Alum iMac internet connection wired vs wireless

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mtbdudex, Sep 30, 2008.

  1. mtbdudex macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #1
    I moved my 1 year old 24" iMac (new 10/18/07, still under warranty for 3 weeks) from the 2nd floor loft to the newly finished basement craft room. Prior we always used wireless on the iMac, now going to the basement I was concerned with performance so decided to go wired. We have a 2 year old Apple wireless airport (b/g, not n). My home was wired with cat 5e for phone/other, so I put a d-link gigabit 5 port switch in the basement, added the ethernet ends, and ran cat 5e to the craft room and newly finished Home Theatre room (prior to drywall). Now, I have a wired network thru the home, and wireless for our iTouch access.

    Strange thing, the iMac is faster at loading web pages via wireless than hard wired, by a lot. I thought there might be something weird with the gigabit 5 port switch, so from work I borrowed a 100' ethernet cable and directly wired it from the airport to the iMac, still same slow loading. It's like the connection is trying to find the requested server (a 3-5 second lag), then once it's found the page(s) do load quite fast.

    In the basement, the wireless connection downstairs is sometimes just 2 bars, sometimes drops, not exactly reliable.

    Anyway, could there be some issue with the iMac internal ethernet card that is causing this to act up??

    Short of me making an Apple Store Genius appointment what else diagnostic/troubleshooting should I do?

    I'd really like to make the hard wired connection work, and don't want to get some external antenna for the 2 year old router nor do I want to get a new one yet.

    I should say that I'm using the hard wired in other rooms and those computers (a MacBook and a Dell D620 laptop) are very fast hardwired.
     
  2. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    COULD be the switch in the airport, is anything else hardwired to the switch? can you borrow another router from someone and try that?

    Also, did you turn off the airport card on the imac when you hooked it up to the cable?
    not that its a problem but might be something you can try
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    I'd like to see you post some ping results first comparing wired and wireless connections.
     
  4. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #4
    Thx for your response, as in my Norton Anti-virus post appears to have been solved (for now).
    If re-appears I'll do some "ping" testing, now it's 1:30am, time for sleeeepppp.;)
    Norton Antivirus "Scan entire system" keeps scanning.....
     
  5. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
  6. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #6
    Q: Total newbie network 101 here:
    What does IPv6 do vs IPv4?
    Risk of having IPv6 on automatic? (I thought this was my default settings)
    What are pro/cons if I turn IPv6 off?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. mtbdudex thread starter macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #7
    Ok;
    So I read most of http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPv6 lots of techno stuff.
    Nothing mentioned of security risks.

    Still not clear to me the risks of using it IPv6, what am I missing???

     

Share This Page