Help Adding A Button To Aux Cable To Change Songs

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by 103734, May 24, 2008.

  1. 103734 Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #1
    Ok well my new car has a Aux input and its impossible to skip songs without taking my eyes off the road, so I was wondering if there is any way I could just go down to radio shack but a button switch and wire it into a aux cable so that it works like the headphones that come with the iPhone, do you guys have any ideas?
     
  2. maxxscholten macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #2
    Hmm not quite sure, but that would be really cool.

    You could try buying the iPhone earphones that come with it (I think about $30 at an Apple store) and snip the wire right before it splits into the separate cords for each earphone, strip some of the wire and then buy an Auxiliary 3.5 mm (I think that's the size) and wire it on.

    Might include a tiny bit of soldering, but you can probably get by with twisting the wires. I'm not sure if this would work, but just an idea.
     
  3. kleo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #3
    You would have to splice one of the Apple iPhone headphones with this button. While i havent done this, i dont think anyone has... This is what i would try. You would have to utilize the 1/8" jack connector from the iPhone headphones because this is the only connector with the extra pin for the mic/button. Then you would have to cut off the earbuds from this cable and splice in the right/left cables from your cars 1/8 jack. To be honest i wouldnt just cut your cars cable up id get a 1/8" jack extender and use that as a converter. If you can the right/left audio cables right the play pause button should still work from the iPhone cable.

    Best of luck!
     
  4. kleo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #4
    NOOO dont cut it BEFORE the cable splits then you would be cutting off the all important play pause button. You would want to cut it off after this button right before the earbuds themselves!
     
  5. maxxscholten macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #5
    Oh yeah I didn't really picture it in my mind and forgot that the button is located on the right ear section. Nice job picking that up! :D
     
  6. zmit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #6
  7. Aravintht macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    i use my old ipod remote

    plug it into the dock connector of the iphone

    press no when it asks about airplane mode

    plug the other end of the remote into your stereo/aux cable (it's a standard 3.5 jack)

    You can play/pause, vol up/down, back/forward and if you hold down the back/forward for 3 seconds, rewind/fastforward.

    it also has a lock on the side to stop you accidentally pressing buttons etc.

    look around on ebay etc, pick it up for less than £10
     
  8. jeniferkey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #8
    I bought one of these from Apple. http://store.apple.com/us/product/TN544LL/A It lets me forward and pause while I'm driving and I don't have to concentrate on the phone.
    There are cheaper ones out there now on ebay.
     
  9. senorFunkyPants macrumors 6502

    senorFunkyPants

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #9
  10. jeniferkey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #10
    The autopilot looks like it would have better audio quality coming from the port at the bottom and not just the plug at the top.

    One thing I like about using the plug at the top is that I can use the button to answer calls in the car and the caller's voice comes out the car speakers. They say they get some echo with the mike on the cord, and sometimes I have to speak louder for them to hear, but for me it's better than fiddling with the phone to answer or using a blue tooth headset. My car has bluetooth, but sometimes it doesn't connect, and this works almost as well.

    Still, it would be nice to have the better audio quality.
     
  11. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #12
    I use the iJack from Macworld SF '08 and it was pretty reasonably priced for MWSF about $10.99, so I'm not sure what the current price is right now. Here's the website:http://www.boombags.com/product_p/ijack.htm and the website is selling them for $19.99. :cool:
     
  12. khemraj1999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #13
    sorry to revive an old post, but the vmoda only have like 4 wires, is it possible to combine the vmoda with iphone's stock jack?
     

Share This Page