Help & Advice Needed With 'No Service' Issue.

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by mikehockenballs, Dec 17, 2007.

  1. mikehockenballs macrumors member

    mikehockenballs

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Greater Manchester, England
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I have an issue with my iphone that is causing me stress no end!
    The iphone is 'cycling' through the following states and will not receive or make calls. It cycles from 'No Service' to 'Orange with 5 bars signal strength' to 'Orange with no signal strength'.
    I have tried to do a restore with itunes but it tells me that it will be restored to it's original state and all music etc.. will be lost , but most importantly that the latest firmware version will be installed which is 1.1.2 and that is what I am afraid of because my iphone is on firmware version 1.1.1 and is jailbroken etc... and if I upgrade to the latest version it will not work properly.

    Could someone tell me if there is a workaround this in order not to brick my iphone?
    I do not know what has caused this to happen except that it could be the magnetics flap on the leather case that I carry it in, don't know how this affects the iphone but I usually place the iphone on top of the case overnight.

    Please help cos I haven't got a working phone at the moment.

    P.S. When I try to play music on the ipod feature it stops and starts intermittently.

    Cheers!
     
  2. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #2
    Just go get a new Sim card. Sounds like a bad one to me. Not sure with your provider, but we get two a year for free here.
     
  3. mikehockenballs thread starter macrumors member

    mikehockenballs

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Greater Manchester, England
    #3
    I have just tried 3 other sim cards in the iphone,
    One is an Orange Pay As You Go, one is an older Orange Contract sim and even the AT+T one that came with the iphone when I bought it.

    Each one has the exact same result of the cycling through the three stages of good signal strength, poor signal strength and no service.

    I think my iphone is broken now.

    So can anyone tell me if I restore and upgrade to 1.1.2 will my iphone be ok or will it be useless?

    Cheers!
     
  4. PatMack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #4
    Your phone is perfectly fine, it just needs a few procedures to repair a corrupt base-band. (I assume you have unlocked it, since your using Orange but it came with AT&T)

    Got to settings > About

    look at the modem firmware, it should be 3.something

    then go to Settings > General > Auto Lock and set taht to "Never"

    Then go to installer (assuming you have jail-broken it and installed installer.) if you dont have installer, go to jailbreakme.com

    go to sources, edit, and add "i.unlock.no"

    go to unlocking tools, and install "The Virginizer"

    let this run, and then restore to 1.1.1. (You can restore to a specific version by holding down Option (Shift on a PC), while pressing restore.)

    After restoring to 1.1.1, unlocking methods are well documented. Be sure to use the DevTeam anysim unlocker for 1.1.1.
     
  5. mikehockenballs thread starter macrumors member

    mikehockenballs

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Greater Manchester, England
    #5
    Excellent help and advice!

    Hi PatMack,

    Thanks for your reply! It saved my life!;)

    I followed your instructions and after two attempts to get my phone working again it is now sorted.
    I say two attempts because I thought I had done it the first time but I had not restored it back to 1.1.1, this is because I had to manually download the 1.1.1 firmware first. I thought that it was part of itunes somehow???? So when I held down 'shift' and then clicked restore in itunes I was shown a window with my music in it that was on my p.c. and that's when I realised that I had to download the firmware first.

    Anyway I have sorted it now and all is well, I hope it does not happen again cos it took me about 2 hours to do properly and follow all of the instructions on the different sites etc...

    I also did not realise that it would wipe off all of my tunes, video's and pictures from the ipod function either, thankfully this was put right when I did a sync with itunes but even that took a while.

    So a big thanks to you from me, you saved my £300 iphone from the dustbin.

    Cheers!
     
  6. mikehockenballs thread starter macrumors member

    mikehockenballs

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Greater Manchester, England
    #6
    Spoke too soon!

    Hi PatMack,

    It would seem that I spoke too soon because after syncing with itunes and then rebooting the phone, the 'Orange' carrier name dissapeared from the top left hand corner of the screen and was replaced by the 'No Service' sign again. So I cannot make or receive any calls at all.

    Although everything else seems to be sorted, after I had reinstalled my original 3rd party programs etc... and the edge fix. The music plays without fault in the ipod section and the video's play as well.

    When I put the sim card in my other normal phone it works fine, any other ideas???

    I am sure that I have virginised and restored and then unlocked my iphone as per all of the instructions, but I cannot use my iphone as a phone.

    Cheers!:(
     
  7. PatMack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #7
    Hi,

    I was so happy to have helped, and then i read your second post. :(

    I am however stil determined help you. I have been in your situation, and i am familliar with the frustration.

    Let me know what your modem firmware version is currently (Settings > General > About)

    It may be easier to contact me via email Patrickbsl (at) gmail.com. I may respond quicker to that. Once i know what your modem firmware version is, i can get you a solution to your issue.

    (I suspect it was somehow upgraded to the 1.1.2 version, and is not functioning correctly under the 1.1.1 environment.)
     
  8. mikehockenballs thread starter macrumors member

    mikehockenballs

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Greater Manchester, England
    #8
    Hi PatMack,

    I will email you at your personal address,

    Thanks for helping me!
     
  9. ellsworth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #9
    How do you correct the baseband issue if you phone isn't jailbroken? Seems like it's happening to me after installing firmware 1.1.3 =(
     

Share This Page