Help after partitioning second drive

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by slrm94, Jun 11, 2017.

  1. slrm94 macrumors newbie

    slrm94

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #1
    Hi,





    I need some advice please, I have a brand new drive WD 6tb Black (There is not O.S. partitions on the drive).

    Mac Pro, macOS Sierra (10.12.4), MacPro 2010
    I attempted to remove one of the partitions and extend the other but this failed. Strangely all other petitions went grey and the only partition left mounted was the one I tried to delete. I decided I had to reboot which it appears was a mistake as after that the entire drive was missing. So I did various PRAM, SMC resets and by booting to recovery mode I was able to locate the drive and partition as I wanted.....





    The only weird issue is that now If I turn the Mac fully off and back on the drive appears and all data and partitions are active and accessible but if I reboot the drive disappears until I fully shutdown and restart?





    Not sure what this means, I have run first aid on all drives and partitions and am currently running a full drive scan using DriveGenius3 but I suspect I need an app that can scan and repair a GUID partition map





    Any suggestions?
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
  3. slrm94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    slrm94

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #3
    Sorry forgot to say I tried reparing with Disk Warrior which causes a Kernel panic and the Mac reboots I need to create a bootable image and try that, Thanks DeltaMac
    --- Post Merged, Jun 11, 2017 ---
    Dam I need a flash drive to do that, I can unmount the entire drive as it's not holding the O.S.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 11, 2017 ---
    It looks like there might be two portion maps if I'm reading this right?

    sudo gpt show disk2

    Password:

    start size index contents

    0 1 PMBR

    1 1 Pri GPT header

    2 32 Pri GPT table

    34 6

    40 409600 1 GPT part - C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B

    409640 3906250000 2 GPT part - 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC

    3906659640 262144

    3906921784 3906250000 3 GPT part - 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC

    7813171784 262144

    7813433928 2344012144 4 GPT part - 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC

    10157446072 262144

    10157708216 781537384 5 GPT part - 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC

    10939245600 262144

    10939507744 781275240 6 GPT part - 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC

    11720782984 262151

    11721045135 32 Sec GPT table

    11721045167 1 Sec GPT header
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    I'd back that up to another drive immediately, before doing anything else. You might be lucky that you can still actually access your data. I say "before you do anything else" because who knows what else you might do that ends that access.

    Then, for a hopefully permanent fix, just wipe the whole drive, make your one partition, and copy the data back to it from the backup.
     
  5. slrm94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    slrm94

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #5
    Wiped the entire drive no joy

    I've found that if I cold boot all partitions show as expected (all empty right now) but if I restart the entire drive is missing until I cold boot again?

    I texted on my old MacPro and the drive works without issue reboot or restart so not sure what the issue is but I don't think its hardware? I've tried formatting on the old machine and also PRAM reset after moving to the new machine in a different SATA bay?

    Please any Ideas?
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2017 ---
    No joy tried that too same as above
     
  6. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #6
    Even if it works in another machine it still could be a bad drive.
     
  7. dschmittler macrumors newbie

    dschmittler

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Location:
    Detroit
    #7
    Boot to recovery. Install reinstall OS X with out wiping drive
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2017 ---
    Or install to the 6tb. Then migrate from old. Back up reinstall
     
  8. slrm94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    slrm94

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #8
  9. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #9
    This seems to be a common issue with larger HDD's when using an SSD as the boot drive.
    Something related to timing.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    May be, but I am now booting from a SSD (840 Evo), and my WD 4TB, 6TB, 8TB Red all works fine. It seems the issue is more HDD firmware related then it's capacity.
     

Share This Page