Help! All my emails are gone!

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Itv, Jul 11, 2014.

1. Itv macrumors newbie

Hi all,
    First of all let me just say I am not a computer expert. I used to keep on top of some apple updates in the past but as they made so many changes to their OS recently I lost track. All i know Mavericks screwed up mail app and gmail big time! I always had funny things happening with my mail app, like tones of duplicated messages, erasing emails just to see them immediately pop back onto the screen, and all of a sudden millions of emails from the past being downloaded... really erratic behaviour of mail.

Two days ago I have lost almost ALL my messages from my gmail and @me account from the past 10 years or more and after some initial research I learned it is likely to do with the Mavericks OS - MAYBE??

I am very confused and don't really know what happened but here is the story:

Setup:
    macbook pro
    mail app with 2 account - gmail and @me.com
    under "on my mac" list on the left i have set up separate folders for filing emails by subject or by sender.
    i use mail on my iPhone and iPad

the other day i was cleaning my inbox from old and unwanted emails, i do that from time to time, just search by subject, then select them all and hit delete. After that I am always double checking in the bin folder and will delete from there as well if everything i see is indeed what i wanted to get rid off.
    This is not a new thing, i do that aloft, always good.
    2 days ago i do the same thing and everything disappeared from everywhere in my email app. everything!!
    All of a sudden i am left with something like 40 messages in my inbox. (i had years and years of mail) NO WAY i have deleted all the emails all the way back to 2007 or what ever...this would have taken me hours to do.
    I know i have selected some but not everything.