Help! Am a student which pc / mac mini

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Matty-p, Apr 3, 2010.

1. Matty-p macrumors regular

Ok so I am a student (15) going into my final year of gcse's next year.I use 2ghz c2d iMac at school In my digital art couse and really like the os . I am looking to replace my old desktop pc ( I allready have a nice 24" monitor and wireless keyboard and mouse so don't worry about those) with a budget o about £400.00 (GDP). I have looked around and it seems i have these three options witch would you suggest for me on a average day I'll be doing quite heavy web brousing (firefox 7-10 tabs) email and backup client running in the background.
    from time to time I'll also use iTunes, open office , light Photoshop and indesign not all at the same time. So here are my options I'd like it to last about 2-3 years thanks so much for your help in advance !

Used mac mini 1.8 ghz c2d I'll upgrade the ram to 2gb and the hard drive to either a 500gb 5400. Or a 320gb 7200 - about £380

build my own quad core - core i5 pc (dual boot ubuntu and xp 64 bit) with 4gb 1600mhz ram 500gb hardrive . About £370

Save up £75 and get brand new base model mac mini -2.2 ghz c2d 2gb ddr3 ram 160 gb hard drive.-about £475

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Refurb Mini is only 439£ so sign up in http://www.refurb.me/index.php and you'll get an email when there is one available but be quick, Minis go pretty fast so when you see one, buy it. Bump the RAM and HD later on if needed

3. Coldmode macrumors regular

If you like OS X but are on a limited budget, you always have the option to hackintosh. 15 is the perfect time to start learning =). You'll get a hell of a lot more power for your money than if you buy a mini as well.

4. Matty-p thread starter macrumors regular