Help Apple squash an OS X bug :)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mumph, Jun 26, 2013.

1. mumph, Jun 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2013

mumph macrumors regular

I've got a call pending with Apple next week to discuss a bug in Safari/Webkit and/or OSX itself. I just wanted to ask has anyone else noted the issue and if so what system you were/are running it on so I can mention it to Apple.

Basically on some websites and definitely the Mac App Store, text changes its appearance depending on certain circumstances.

I'm no developer so my terms may not be the most technical but if you visit the Mac App Store on your computer and navigate around a bit then try using your trackpad or magic mouse to 'slide' back and forth between pages so they slide in from the sides, keep a close eye on the text already on screen. Does it flicker? Does it seem to get bolder or thinner when the sliding action takes place?

On my iMac the effect is very noticeable. Its as though the text has changed style i.e. from light to bold.

If you notice it on your set up could you let me know which OSX your running and what graphics card.

As I've said it also happens on some websites in Safari AND Chrome so maybe its a Webkit problem and Google switching to Chromium carried it over from Webkit.

I've submitted the bug to Apple and they seem quite keen to nail it hence the call I'm waiting for so if you spot it hopefully you can let me know so I can pass the information on.

A developer has told me the issue can be resolved on your own websites by setting CSS translate3d to 0,0,0 but obviously if its not your website its happening on and its an inherent problem in Safari/webkit then it needs sorting by Apple. :)

2. Silvereel macrumors 6502

I think what you're seeing are the pages reloading. It's very annoying to me, and I wish they would let them be stored in the system memory for longer.