Help ASAP

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by soemochris, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. soemochris macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #1
    Hey

    i got an imac (used) for christmas and i found i couldnt install stuff without a password

    so i go to reset it, i do this, turn off and boot up, im prompted by a sign in thing, so i sign in with the new password and it shakes at me. i go back in to reset password and no accounts show

    help
     
  2. holtchristian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    #2
    yikes- do u have a the os x cd? might wanna throw that in there
     
  3. soemochris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #3
    yep, have both, what do i do?

    btw im on my old windows machine now :p
     
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    put in the cd, hold the 'c' key while rebooting, re-install OSX
     
  5. soemochris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #5
    then?
     
  6. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #6
    Well, once you reinstall the operating system you should be free to create a user account and you'll be all set.
     
  7. soemochris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #7
    where will this be shown?
     
  8. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #8
    Once you have reinstalled the OS, you will be greeted by a welcome screen that will then ask you to create a user
     
  9. soemochris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #9
    ok thanks
     
  10. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #10
    I believe if you boot up to the DVD then goto the utilities menu, there is something there for a password reset!

    However if you bought it used a clean install of the OS is probably the best thing anyway!
     
  11. IMcD23 macrumors regular

    IMcD23

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa, United States, Earth, Milky Way, . . .
    #11
    This does work, but unless you want into their files or something like that, just reinstall and it will be like new

    IMcD23
     
  12. soemochris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #12
    ok

    new problem

    disc 2 of the install keeps making this weird soud, and it keeps going from the installer to a blue screen, no progress is made


    my dad is phone applecare now, so i should get some more discs or somthing
     
  13. soemochris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #13
    also its saying it cannot find root user

    any idea how i can make one?

    and how could i reset the system to factory settings?
     
  14. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #14
    Okay first off you do not necessarily need disc one and two, you only need disc one. Disc two is for installing iLife and the other bundled software.

    You need to completely erase the hard drive and install OS X. At the install screen choose the "options" button and select "erase and install". Then the next screen will show a "customize" button, use this to remove the useless languages and choose only the print driver you will using. Deselect the iLife installs such as iPhoto, iDVD, Garageband and iMovie or iWeb. Then continue and you should be good.

    You can install the iLife suite later on or buy a copy of it from the Apple store if disc two is damaged.
     
  15. soemochris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #15
    found a fix on www.macosxhints.com that let me re-run the setup assistant



    and its working now


    :D
     

Share This Page