Help Before i set fire to this mac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by shaun21gb, Nov 7, 2016.

  1. shaun21gb macrumors member

    shaun21gb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    sydney NSW
    #1
    Can any body please give me any help with this mac pro 3.1 .

    Right here is the problem im having,the mac will only take 1 memory board in either slow.

    If i put the other memory board in to the empty slot with memory on or no memory it turns and just hangs, no chime or anything .
    when i take the memory board out it boots up fine, ok it will do exactly the same if i swop the boards round.
    So i thought it may be a faulty memory board, so i bought a new board, IT's still the same just hangs there and as soon as i take out the one board away it go's.

    Can anybody please help as im going to tap dance on the mother board very soon.
     
  2. Scepticalscribe Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #2
    Why not post this in the mac pro section of the forum?
     
  3. Tommo66 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #3
    It sounds like you have a faulty slot on the motherboard rather than the memory module being faulty. I saw this in a Macbook Pro that had sustained damage and one slot had failed. As long as there was no RAM in that slot all was fine, add RAM to that slot and it wouldn't boot. Any chance you can get it to an Apple store ?
     
  4. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    It's obsolete now, I doubt they'd have the parts in store :/
     
  5. Chicane-UK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #5
    You could try cleaning the RAM slot with an alcohol cleaner of some type? Perhaps some crap has got in there or even some kind of corrosion?
     
  6. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #6
    You should list how many memory sticks you have and the amount of ram on each stick
    Ram.png
     
  7. Chicane-UK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #7
    Does this generation of Mac Pro require ECC modules too?
     
  8. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #8
    try a can of air blow out all the ram slots and the one on the board that the riser plugs into that might work.
     
  9. ITguy2016 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #9
    Can you provide some background on the situation? Are you attempting to add additional memory? Or did it suddenly fail? What is the configuration of your system? What type of memory? Etc
     

Share This Page