HELP: Blackrain rc3 conflict winterboard???

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by cychun8, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. cychun8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #1
    I am new to Blackrain, previously i was using pwnage tool.

    Anyway, 3gs iphone 3.1.2 jailbreak with blackrain rc3 has no issue. Then, installed Cydia and Rockapp has no issue.

    Go Cydia and install winterboard, it ask for restart the device upon completion.

    When it start, it stuck at the logo for long time. It tried to reboot the device again and it still got stuck!

    I tried enter DFU mode but the PC can't recognize the device. There is usb iphone device there!

    Any clue how to resolve it?
     
  2. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #2
    Have you previously had an untethered jailbreak on this same 3GS? If not, it is possible you have the new version of iBoot. Try plugging it in and running blackra1n again.
     
  3. cychun8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #3
    I don't understand what u mean by 'untethered jailbreak'? Can you explain further? What happen if i have new version of iBoot? Will it stop the jailbreak process?

    I tried plug-in and run blackrain again, only see 'wait for device'.
    Any clue how to by pass this?
     
  4. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #4
    Okay, let me ask a different way:

    1) When did you buy your phone?
    2) What are the 4th and 5th digits of your serial number?
    3) Have you successfully jailbroken this phone and successfully restarted before?

    If you have the new version of iBoot, you will still be able to jailbreak. However, because the new version of iBoot is not susceptible to the exploit used to force the phone to boot the altered OS, your phone will not be able to boot on its own. If you restart your phone or its battery dies, you will need to plug your phone into a computer and run blackra1n again to get your phone to boot. This is what is called a tethered jailbreak.
     
  5. cychun8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #5
    Apologized for not answering ur question. :(

    1) Bought this phone 2 months ago.
    2) serial no can't recall.
    3) successfully jailbreak this iphone and restarted with no issue.

    The problem is after installed winterboard thru cydia, it stuck at the 'apple' logo page for long.
     
  6. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #6
    If you have successfully your phone when jailbroken in the past, then you do not have the new iBoot. That's good news!

    Next step is to put it in DFU mode and restore. I know you said you tried this before, but barring hardware failure it really should work. Follow the instructions here exactly. If it doesn't work the first time, try again. Sometimes it takes people several tries to get it working. When you have successfully entered DFU mode, your phone's screen should be completely black and iTunes should say it has detected a phone in recovery mode. Remember, if you are still holding both buttons down and you see the Apple logo you are holding them down for too long!
     
  7. cychun8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #7
    Thanks, Mike. It works after a few times!

    I tried it using different usb ports and finally it works in my colleage's laptop.

    Will jailbreak this again with blackrain!
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    WOW, that's an answer I have never seen before.

    No doubt the OP is having problems jailbreaking if he/she doesn't even know where/how to look up serial number (Hint: Settings, General, About, Serial #)
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Or in his iphones simcard tray :D

     
  10. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    Name's not Mike, but you're very welcome.

    Umm...OP was stuck in a boot loop.
     
  11. vice86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #11
    Same here...after getting a replacement phone with the new iBoot I decided to JB it tonight. Everything went smooth and decided to keep it VERY minimal as opposed to loading my old 3GS up and eventually screwing it up to where I couldn't even restore it and had Error9 ..anywho, installed Cydia, backgrounder and 3G Unrestricted and worked all great..but ended up seeing someone with my fav theme, Glassklart, so i decided to install WInterboard..."reboot phone", which I did, to which blackrain wouldn't reboot the phone anymore like it was doing. I was afraid of messing around too much so I just restored back to original.

    So now I'm wondering why Winterboard is causing a problem. I'm gonna JB agin but only leaving those few cydia apps and nothing more. It's too nerve-wracking hoping nothing screws up my phone again to where I need to call Apple a 2nd time.
     
  12. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    In that case, I guess I should have mentioned the back panel of the box :eek:
     

Share This Page