Help! (Bluetooth Errors)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DNSDj, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. DNSDj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary / Alberta / Canada
    #1
    so ive got the iMac 27inch i7 1tb hdd and 4gig ram

    anyways

    my bluetooth wont show up no more
    neither my mouse or my keyboard do anything
    like it wont connect..
    i had to pull out a wired microsoft mouse to shut down the computer.
    i am now using my old school intel p4 laptop

    Urgent help is needed
    as i have ALOT of important information on the hard drive and i dont want to lose any of it.

    any ideas ppl?

    oh and its a referb unit i bought i online thru apple.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Do you also have a wired mouse and can connect both the wired keyboard and wired mouse to the USB ports on the iMac?
    If so, start the iMac with the wired mouse and wired keyboard connected and take a look at
    :apple: > About This Mac ... >> More Info (open "System Profiler) >>> Hardware >>>> Bluetooth
    and look, if the Bluetooth
    Did you also made sure Bluetooth is on?


     
  3. DNSDj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary / Alberta / Canada
    #3
    i dont have a wired keyboard

    i wish i could screen capture the what it says when i click the bluetooth

    i have turned it off and come to my room to try and ponder what could be wrong

    but the error msg is something along the lines of

    bluetooth is unavailable at this time, please connect a device to enable

    but when i power on the mighty mouse and the wireless keyboard they wont connect.

    and when i search for bluetooth using the search in the top righthand corner & click it.. nothing happens... waited for about 30 mins for it to try and connect.. but nothing.

    im going to take pics of it tmw using my phone & im gonna see if i can post them here

    i dont know im at a loss of things to do...
     
  4. aussiedj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Brisbane
    #4
    Reset PRAM:

    Resetting PRAM and NVRAM

    1. Shut down the computer.
    2. Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command, Option, P, and R. You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step 4.
    3. Turn on the computer.
    4. Press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys. You must press this key combination before the gray screen appears.
    5. Hold the keys down until the computer restarts and you hear the startup sound for the second time.
    6. Release the keys.

    Source: http://blog.evandavey.com/2008/04/how-to-fix-bluetooth-not-available-problem-in-mac-osx.html
    Might need a wired keyboard for this...
     
  5. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #5
    for most you need a wired usb keyboard ,
    but maybe just needs a permission repair something you actually could do without wired Keyboard just with the wired mouse , so pop in your install disc and do a permission repair , it might help already or eventually your time machine backup might sort it too ,
    if not i would just bring it to apple and let them sort it out under warranty / apple care
     
  6. DNSDj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary / Alberta / Canada
    #6
    thanks guys it worked.

    OMG i was freaking out..

    Much thanks and blessings your way.

    I love these forums.

    many many many thanks.
     
  7. aussiedj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Brisbane
    #7
    Would you mind posting what fixed it? It will help when someone else has the same problem & they come across this thread in their search.
     
  8. Apple OC macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown
    #8
    Thread title is "Help" ... I don't think many people will find this thread beyond today :cool:
     
  9. aussiedj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Brisbane
  10. DNSDj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary / Alberta / Canada
    #10
  11. DNSDj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary / Alberta / Canada
    #11
    hahah maybe i should change the title a lil bit.


     
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    Please do so. :)
     
  13. DNSDj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary / Alberta / Canada
    #13
    ahhh i cant,.. damn it.. oh well.. unless one of the admins can change it ???

     
  14. DNSDj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary / Alberta / Canada
  15. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #15
    Does that mean, this does not work for your?

     
  16. DNSDj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary / Alberta / Canada
    #16
    no didnt show up originally when i tried it.. but its changed now so its all good i guess. i keep an eye out for it next time i need to change a thread title

    thanks

     

Share This Page