Help buying a new Lens

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Barnzee, Jan 27, 2011.

1. Barnzee macrumors regular

Hello I know there are some excellent photographers on here and was wondering if there was anyone who can break down the Tech into something more understandable when it comes to Lens Technology.

I am looking to purchase a new Canon Lens because I own the EOS T2i Rebel (I plan to uprgade at a later date) and was considering an "L" series but I don't know which one to buy. A friend told me that typically high end lenses are permanent purchases, and its the body that gets upgraded.

Overall I want a lens thats versatile. A lens that can take good landscape photos as I plan on Hiking a lot, as well as decent portraits. Also I like to spin fire poi at at night, and I often record and make HD movies with the footage; I will link an example at the bottom. obviouslly i'm an ametuer photographer and this is just a hobby, but what lens would best fit my needs?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvLU-btnOWU&hd=1

I also use Appeture if that is relevent in anyway.

Suggestions? thanks in advance.

2. mackaydesign macrumors newbie

One thing to consider about L series lenses is that they will add some weight (and usually bulk) to the body... just something to think about it if you want to use it for hiking. But the lenses are built to last. :)

I've used the L 24-70mm for quite some time, and its a great all around lens. You can take wide shots, get in tight for macros, and take portraits too. Landscapes should be fine. At f/2.8 (it's widest aperture) you can experiment in lower-light settings...

My recent "go-to" lens has been the L f/1.2 50mm... great for really low-light settings... and I love it for portrait and landscape.

The T2i is a nice body, have fun!

Hope this helps!

3. Phrasikleia macrumors 601

Phrasikleia