Help buying a Retina MacBook Pro for college!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by FenixStryker, Jul 26, 2014.

1. FenixStryker macrumors newbie

Hi guys, I have to get a new laptop for college next month and I want to get a Retina MacBook Pro. But according to the buyers guide it sounds like I shouldn't? I really need some guidance because my poor MacBook is going to kick the bucket any day now. I'm a Mass Communications student that does a lot with final cut so there really is no getting around buying this thing.

Thanks in advance~

2. Meister Suspended

Meister

whats wrong with it?

3. FenixStryker thread starter macrumors newbie

It's really old like I'm not even sure how this thing is running Mavericks to be perfectly honest with you. I think it came out in 2008 or 2009..Point being is it can't take running final cut, writing papers and playing minecraft.

4. thetechfixer macrumors 6502

thetechfixer

There is going to be a New Retina MacBook Pro, but since the delay with the new chipset, they will be coming out in 2015, if you can wait then wait but the current line of MacBook Pro's are plenty fast. Heck, my 2011 13" with upgraded RAM and an SSD is perfect for me still for video and photo editing etc.

5. FenixStryker thread starter macrumors newbie

Okay that makes sense! I can't wait unfortunately, I'm going back for my second year in September so I gotta make a choice now. The only other question I have is if Apple going to give me a hard time if I decide to upgrade when the new Retina MacBook is out.

6. mad3inch1na macrumors 6502a