Help! Buying my first Mac!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Reach9, Aug 17, 2010.

1. Reach9 macrumors 68020

Reach9

Hey all,

First of all, this is my first post on the forums. I've looked through the main forums for a while, but never registered. Great to be here!

I'm making the switch to Mac in about 4 days.
    I've always used PC since the day i touched a computer, however I recall using iBooks during my middle school design classes. However, my preference was PC.
    (this is my current laptop: http://www.dell.com/ca/p/inspiron-15/pd so you can tell what a big leap it will be for me to buy my first Mac)
    After owning an iPhone, and looking at Macs in the Apple Store I realized what I was missing.
    I'm a Business student in University, and there have been numerous times when my battery would die half way through a lecture (2hrs 15mins on the best days). Being frustrated at Windows is an understatement.
    I do some graphic designing on the side as a hobby, but I think the baseline would be fine for some casual designing.

So i hope to start the next year in a great way.
    I've chosen to buy a baseline Macbook Pro 13" because of the affordability, battery life, comfort and portability. Moreover, i won't require crazy speed like the new iX's so the Core2Duo is fine for me.

Now, in order to transfer my files i plan to use an external harddrive, however some say that they only work for PC. Why is this so? If it uses USB 2.0 it should be able to work for the Macbook Pro as well, right?
    Do you have any cheaper yet quality external harddrives that you can recommend? Looking at around 500GBs.

Second question, which sleeve would be the most bang for your buck and portable? I was thinking Neoprene Sleeve Plus.

Last question, how do i go about buying CircusPonies Notebook 3.0? Do i just download the trial and then purchase a serial key (does it get emailed?) from them when the trial runs out?