Help| Buying two IPhones

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by dvir971, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. dvir971 macrumors regular

    dvir971

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Israel
    #1
    I Have few questions about owning Using 2 IPhone devices at the same time.
    1. if you had old iphone and you are buying a new one so it will let you back-up the data from the old iphone to the new one. Will it let me do that in 2 new iphones (I'll plug the first one and back it up, and then plug the second one- will it ask me to backup again)?
    2. Can i use two Iphones with the same computer and ITunes acount?
    3. data: everytime i will connect one of the iphones it will transfer all the app-datas (game saving etc) to the ITunes and then it will transfer the same data to the second one when i will plug it? for example:
    When i bought the new iphones i transfered them both app data of a curtein game and i was in level 10. in one iphone i proceeded to level 20, and in the other i reached only 15. when i will plug the first iphone (20) to the computer and then the second one (15) it will transfer the seconf one (15) the ata from the first one (20) and it will get evel 20 too?
     
  2. JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Itunes should let you do this.
    Yes
    No, iTunes will treat them a separate devices.
     
  3. coorspate macrumors regular

    coorspate

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.2; en-us; Sprint APA9292KT Build/FRF91) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

    1 yes
    2 yes
    3 it keeps the separate as long as you name the phones different
     
  4. dvir971 thread starter macrumors regular

    dvir971

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Israel
    #4
    Great!

    Thanks for the quick answers (I Didn't thought someone would understand what I Meant). ITunes is Better that I Thought....
    And one more thing: All of this will also work in two different computers with the same Itunes acount, right?
     
  5. JamesMB, Feb 8, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2011

    JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    You can make it work, but it can turn into a nightmare, if you don't know what you are doing.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=546956
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=961745
    You can get it working, and as soon as Apple decides that you need to update iTunes, just so you can update your phone, it can mess things up. Personally, I wouldn't want the hassle.
     
  6. dvir971 thread starter macrumors regular

    dvir971

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Israel
    #6
    The story is I Have one computer for both Iphones and i will sync bith of them to it, but i'm planning on doing for every IPhone a private computer for it. so after i'm getting the new computer and i want to connect the iphone to it (which was connected to other computer in the past) all I need to do is to enter the itunes acount username and password and access my library in both computers (wich every one of the new computers is synced with only one iphone) or I need to do all these things in the link so it work? can't i just access the itunes acount in both computers?
     
  7. JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    When you get the new computer, either PM me or open a new thread, and I'll help you set it up. You can't just connect an iphone, with data, to a new computer and have it copy over the data, and if you don't do it right, you can wipe the phone.
     
  8. dvir971 thread starter macrumors regular

    dvir971

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Israel
    #8
    wait, even if i'm setting the itunes to the acount i used in the old computer (appke id) it wont work? because when i deleted my computer once and installed ITunes again and signed in with the same itunes acount, all my apps returned to the computer and i could sync my IPhone and nothing was deleted (not even app-datas)....
     
  9. JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    No
    Evidently, when you "deleted" the computer, some of the data remained, because if you sync your phone to a new computer, with no iTunes data on it, some data will be lost if your not careful. You can't just enter your account number in the new machine and have that data magically appear. You will have to transfer some of the data from your iPhone to your new computer before your first sync, or you could lose it.

    As I said when you get your new computer, I'll help you get the data off your phone and into the new computer.
     
  10. dvir971 thread starter macrumors regular

    dvir971

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Israel
    #10
    when i said "deleted" i ment i deleted the entire computer, even installed the windows again and still everything with the Itunes was OK, but as you said, when i'll buy the computer i'll ask for full description for what i should do.
    why does it has to be so complicated.....
     
  11. JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    Because of copyright laws! But it is actually pretty simple once you have done it.
     

Share This Page